Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
bbwr
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎10-17-2009
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

problem loading my 1st application onto Storm

hi, I followed:

A1_Setting_up_necessary_tools_v5.0.pdf

but I found discrepancies between instructions in the document above, and the listed web pages, so something might be not ok.

In particular where exactly I can download JDE's (4.3-4.7)? - I'm having trouble tracing back what I did earlier... :smileysad:

 

I built my 1st application (hello World) for Blackberry. It works in the symulator, but doesn't load into my Storm from within 'Desktop Manager'. When I attempt loading alx file, I get message the device is not supported.

I think I don't have the proper version of  one of the components.

 

I've installed the following:

Eclipse 3.4.1

Blackberry JDE component package 4.5.0

 

 

This is rather new to me (although I have some programming experience). Where do I find the latest Blackberry JDE component package?

thanks.

 

P.s. how can I have Storm layout  in the symulator, instead of Curve?

Please use plain text.
Developer
RexDoug
Posts: 4,764
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: problem loading my 1st application onto Storm

If you want to run the app on the Storm simulator, you'll need the 4.7 JDE or Eclipse component pack.

 

If you run the code compiled on 4.5 on a Storm device, it will run in "compatibility mode" which is not very attractive.

 

The tools are here:

 

http://na.blackberry.com/eng/developers/javaappdev/devtools.jsp

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
bbwr
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎10-17-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: problem loading my 1st application onto Storm

[ Edited ]

thanks.

Now I understand JDE 4.7 and Eclipse with component pack are two independent solutions to writing applications for Storm.

 

1) I've installed JDE4.7 Now I need a document (with an example) that will guide me through the 1st application. But my first impression is that JDE4.7 is not as sophisticated as Eclipse 3.4

 

2) In the solution for Eclipse, I tried upgrading JDE component pack 4.5 into 4.7, but something is not working properly: I downloaded eJDE-4_7_0_46_Component.zip, and tried loading it using 'Software Update' in Help in Eclipse, but I got an error message:

 

java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError

Unexpected error encountered while preparing for the operation.
org/eclipse/ecf/filetransfer/BrowseFileTransferException

 

Any idea what is missing in my installation?

Please use plain text.
New Developer
CaptSteve
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-26-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: problem loading my 1st application onto Storm

You've got Eclipse 3.4.1 Galileo installed. Switch to Eclipse 3.4.2 Ganymede and that error will go away.

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
bbwr
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎10-17-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: problem loading my 1st application onto Storm

thanks, I've made some progress: I've installed Eclipse 3.4.2 Ganymede, and was indeed able to update all the Blackberry JDE components up to 4.7.

I selected: Blackberry JDE Component package 4.7.0

My test application runs properly in the simulator, which now is Storm simulator (that's what I need).

 

Unfortunately I still get the message:

This application is not compatible with your device and cannot be loaded'  when I attempt uploading the alx file using Desktop manager.

 

My alx file is very simple:

------------------------------------------

<loader version="1.0">
    <application id="Hello Blackberry">
        <name >
           
        </name>
        <description >
           
        </description>
        <version >
            1.0
        </version>
        <vendor >
            TestVendor
        </vendor>
        <copyright >
            Copyright (c) 2009 TestVendor
        </copyright>
        <fileset Java="1.39">
            <directory >
               
            </directory>
            <files >
                Hello Blackberry.cod

            </files>

        </fileset>

    </application>

</loader>

---------------------------------

 

Looks like something still isn't clicking...

Incidentally, when I connected my Storm through the Desktop Manager, it found updates (lots of them for almost anything), but these updates turned out to be older than what I already have installed, so I did not proceed.

 

More suggestions please!

Please use plain text.
Developer
bbwr
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎10-17-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: problem loading my 1st application onto Storm

[ Edited ]

ok, I've finally installed my test application!

After I removed all spaces from all filenames, and all subsequent stuff, I managed to load it through Desktop Manager. I'm a bit surprised that removing spaces from filenames solved the problem.

 

and big  thanks to CaptSteve for the suggestion!

Please use plain text.
Developer
qwavel
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎09-10-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: problem loading my 1st application onto Storm

 


CaptSteve wrote:

You've got Eclipse 3.4.1 Galileo installed. Switch to Eclipse 3.4.2 Ganymede and that error will go away.

 


 

Just a technicality, but I think that Galileo is 3.5 and that Ganymede refers to the whole 3.4.x line.  So the BB Eclipse plug-in only works with 3.4.2 and does not work with 3.5.

 

Please use plain text.