Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 229
Registered: ‎11-21-2009
My Device: Not Specified

"Brick the Device"

 

I hear this term from time to time...

 

What would happen if you set a module to autostartup and systemmodule and it went into a CPU loop right from the "getgo"?

 

Question - is there such thing as "safe boot" OR a way thru Desktop Manager to remove the culprit code?

 

I don't have this situation - but considering an app to be autostartup and I'd like to know if it did have issues like that - what is the solution?

 

  Thanks in advance...

Developer
Posts: 163
Registered: ‎07-16-2008
My Device: Not Specified
My Carrier: Sprint

Re: "Brick the Device"

[ Edited ]

You can use javaloader -erase to erase the offending module, if you know the module name.

 

Otherwise, worst case scenario, you can always use javaloader -wipe (which will wipe everything, including the OS) and then install a new OS on the phone.

 

In the 2 years I've been at my development company, we've never killed one of our phones so completely it couldn't be brought back with a -wipe / reinstall, so don't worry about bricking your device.

Andrew Cowart | Metova
www.metova.com
Developer
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: "Brick the Device"

On most BlackBerrys nowadays you can boot in "safe mode" where no third-party applications are supposed to start on system startup. To boot in "safe mode", cold-reboot, wait until the red LED dims (this happens relatively quickly), then press and hold the ESC key until the handheld boots up. The top center part of the home screen should say "safe mode" and there will also be a popup telling that you've booted in safe mode.

Developer
Posts: 1,805
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.3253, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.2576, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.2582, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.1.2576, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: "Brick the Device"

Interesting, does this work on the Storm as well? If so I have yet to get it to work and probably did something wrong.

---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Developer
Posts: 19,629
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: "Brick the Device"

[ Edited ]

@klyubin - That is a very useful bit of knowledge.  Thanks for sharing.

 

@ - Apologies, the kudos was intended for klyubin - enjoy it!

Developer
Posts: 1,805
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.3253, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.2576, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.2582, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.1.2576, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: "Brick the Device"

@Peter: It's OK :smileyhappy: I'll return the favor.

---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Developer
Posts: 484
Registered: ‎07-17-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: "Brick the Device"

This happened to me just a few days ago.

 

Safe Mode saved the day.