Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Regular Contributor
shafich
My Device: Developer
My Carrier: Developer
Accepted Solution

use NFC to open my application ???

Hello,
I am new to using NFC.
I was able so far to read a tag and to write to a tag (learned the official supportforums.blackberry post on NFC)

However is question is "How can I open my application when the NFC is triggered"
say I am writing the following String to my tags "myAppName_[id] : url=1"
where "myAppName_[id]" is unique.

So problem is that after reading any tag I have A DIALOG BOX WILL POP-UP containing the data in the nfc,
is there a way to open my application instead of getting this DIALOG ?

same question in a different words (sorry  because I am not knowing how to express myself well ):
Is it possible to Open my application (or bring it from foreground to background) , AFTER reading and Verifying(verifying it via myfunction that will make sure that this tag is mine! ) the TAG (via NFC).

Please use plain text.
Retired
mwoolley
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: use NFC to open my application ???

Hi

I'm not completely sure I understand the question so let me start with some basics and then you can correct me if I have this wrong.

To have an NFC tag launch a particular application, you do not put the application details in the tag. You must implement the NDEFMessageListener interface and then register your application as a listener using the ReaderWriterManager addNDEFMessageListener method. This will register your application as a handler for tags containing NDEFMessages of a particular type. By "type" I mean type and Type Name Format as defined by the NFC Forum. You might specifiy TNF=TNF_WELL_KNOWN and Type="Sp" for example if you want your application to handle Smart Poster tags.