Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
Charuta_Rajopadhye
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎08-01-2013
My Device: Z10, Q5, Q10
My Carrier: Vodaphone
Accepted Solution

Animation : translate large string

Hi All,

 

I need to translate my text string left to right.

But if my string is very huge, the label gets blurred at the end and the entire string is not visible.

what do i do to have a label that can hold a string of 255 characters, so that i can translate the label and let the user see the entire string?

 

Any pointers??

Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 16,023
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: Animation : translate large string

a Label with multiline can show longer texts. or a TextArea.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Please use plain text.
Developer
Charuta_Rajopadhye
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎08-01-2013
My Device: Z10, Q5, Q10
My Carrier: Vodaphone

Re: Animation : translate large string

But it'll take the text to the next line.

I want all of it on the same line.

Please use plain text.
Developer
Charuta_Rajopadhye
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎08-01-2013
My Device: Z10, Q5, Q10
My Carrier: Vodaphone

Re: Animation : translate large string

But it will  take the text to the next line.

I want all of it on the same line.

Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 16,023
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: Animation : translate large string

what difficulties do you have with a regular label, then? if the text fits the screen it is displayed on the full screen width (if you define it like that)
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Please use plain text.
Developer
Charuta_Rajopadhye
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎08-01-2013
My Device: Z10, Q5, Q10
My Carrier: Vodaphone

Re: Animation : translate large string

my string length is much much larger them the width of my screen. and i want the user to see the entire text so i have to translate the text from one end to the other till the entire text is seen by the user.

 

so for this, what i do is put the text on the label, and translate the label, but the entire text does not fit on the label.

 

Is there any other way i can implement the same?

Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 16,023
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: Animation : translate large string

I don't understand what you want to achieve.
The text does not fit on the screen, but you don't want to use more than one line. Sounds quite impossible to me.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Please use plain text.
Developer
Charuta_Rajopadhye
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎08-01-2013
My Device: Z10, Q5, Q10
My Carrier: Vodaphone

Re: Animation : translate large string

Yes the text does not fit in one line, but i want the user to see the entire line by translating the text across X axis.

But i cannot translate the label, for the text does not fit the label.

 

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
greenback
Posts: 519
Registered: ‎10-17-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10, DAC

Re: Animation : translate large string

What you want to do is animate the text using TranslateTransition.

Please use plain text.
Developer
Charuta_Rajopadhye
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎08-01-2013
My Device: Z10, Q5, Q10
My Carrier: Vodaphone

Re: Animation : translate large string

Yes! but translation is not the problem, i can easily translate the label, on X axis, but the string on the label is bigger than the label so its gets warapped towards the end.

 

so my objective that the entire text should be visible to the user (by translation on text) is defeated.

Please use plain text.