Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

New Developer
plungeint
My Device: PlayBook
My Carrier: n/a

Any way to add missing header files to a .h?

Hi,

I come from .Net development, and I'm quite new to C++. Sometimes I use objects that are not included in the "include" regions at the header of the cpp file. For example, to use CCPoint, I need to include a header, but sometimes it's tricky to know what is the necessary header.

Is there any way to add the headers automatically? In .Net we have the "resolve namespace" feature that adds the necessary "usings" at the top of the c# classes.

Cheers,

JB

Please use plain text.
Developer
BikeAtor
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: None

Re: Any way to add missing header files to a .h?

I don't know such a feature. In C/C++ it's also difficult to do such things, cause every file could have the definition of many classes with defines used for definition of classnames. That's the advantage and disadvantage of a precompiler. So the only way I know is to use a search-engine at the internet.

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
smacmartin
My Device: developer
My Carrier: developer

Short answer:

No.

Mid-sized answer:

By convention, most classes are defined in a .h file of the same name.

So if you need ListView you will #include <bb/cascades/ListView>, and if you need QPoint you will #include <QPoint>.

Find an example of something in the right subsystem and you'll know what to include.

Other standard types are well documented everywhere, including the linux command "man <thing>". The documentation should tell you what to include, and you'll quickly learn them.

Long answer: