Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

New Contributor
sinkpoint
My Device: none
Accepted Solution

Anyway to have an onLoad function in qml when adding to NavigationPane?

I'm new to Blackberry 10 dev. So I'm wondering what's the best way to do this as I'm not getting any clear answers from the dev docs.

What I want is to start a separate view in my app from a navigation screen. The new page will then create a http request and update the UI based on the output.

The best way seems to be using the NavigationPane and add a qml view. However how do I invoke a C++ function when it's pushed onto the stack? Something similar to android onActivityCreated() in Fragments. There is the Http example docs, but the program started the http request from the constructor of the inherited QObject. How to I have a function executed as the new qml is added to the navigation stack as

// navigationpane.qml

NavigationPane {
    id: navigationPane
    Page {
        Container {
            Label { 
                text: "First page"
            }
        }

actions: [
            ActionItem {
                title: "Next page"
                ActionBar.placement: ActionBarPlacement.OnBar
                onTriggered: {
                    var page = pageDefinition.createObject();
                    navigationPane.push(page);
                }

attachedObjects: ComponentDefinition {
                    id: pageDefinition;
                    source: "secondpage.qml"
                }
            }
        ]
    }
    onPopTransitionEnded: { page.destroy(); }
}
Developer
peter9477
My Device: PlayBook, Z10

Re: Anyway to have an onLoad function in qml when adding to NavigationPane?

Most QML objects have a creationCompleted signal, so you can define an onCreationCompleted: { ... } to do what I believe you're asking for.