Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Contributor
philkaye
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: Rogers
Accepted Solution

BB10 Native/Cascades SDK not connecting to Alpha BB10 simulator

I'm brand new to the world of BB development.  I installed the BB10 native/cascades SDK, the VMWare player and the BB10 Alpha simulator.  I can get the simulator up and running in the virtual machine.  Then I start the IDE, and go to the Blackberry Deployment setup wizard.  It does not autodetect the simulator.  I enter the ip address from the simulator and the password, but the wizard keep saying "failed to set up simulator".

I have verified that i am in developer mode in the simulator.

I'm on a windows 7 machine.

Any suggestions? 

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
lcocea
My Device: PlayBook & Nexus 4

Re: BB10 Native/Cascades SDK not connecting to Alpha BB10 simulator

Similar problem here. The sim is listed in the bottom panel of the IDE but upon trying to build & launch any demo app an error message reads that there is a problem building the target. When I try to create a new target using autodetect the simulator is not detected. Manually entering the IP/password of the simulator does not seem to help.

Please use plain text.
Contributor
philkaye

Anybody?  Is there a trick to getting the SDK to connect to the simulator?  Is there some networking setting in Windows 7 that might be getting in the way?

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
daryl_martin
My Device: N/A

Can you try changing your network adapter in vmware to bridge mode? This will connect the VM to your network via your ethernet adapter instead of using the NAT provided by VMware.
Please use plain text.
Developer
borceg
My Device: BlackBerry PlayBook 16GB
My Carrier: Vip