Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
Svat_
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎02-13-2009
My Device: 9860
My Carrier: MTS
Accepted Solution

BBM problem on BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha Simulator

Hi,

I have installled latest version of BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha Simulator (10.0.09.1673).

When I run BBM, I see message: "No Blackberry Data! BBM in unable to connect to the server. Please try again later".

How to get it worked? Is there any solution?

Thanks!

Please use plain text.
Developer
BGmot
Posts: 1,068
Registered: ‎11-24-2011
My Device: PlayBook
My Carrier: x

DRe: BBM problem on BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha Simulator

Do you have BBM installed on simulator??

Please use plain text.
Developer
Svat_
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎02-13-2009
My Device: 9860
My Carrier: MTS

Re: DRe: BBM problem on BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha Simulator

yes

there is release notes for this buid:

The following features or applications have been added to this release:
-SD card simulation support
Your app can now access simulated SD memory. This can be seen from the simulator's Settings menu under Storage and Access.


-BBM and BBM Server
The BBM Server simulator comes bundled with the BlackBerry 10 device simulator for Windows and Mac. Now you can test your BBM connected app without the need for a BlackBerry 10 device. The BBM server simulator enables communication between separate instances of BBM that run on the simulator.


On first BBM start it shows me "associating BBM..."   message that never disappearing:

http://gyazo.com/6dac1c4ea069bea40dd908d56bbfd2a2

 

I have closed it manualy. In next BBM start it shows:

http://gyazo.com/f5aca5e605e68a38296de2568ca91d1e

Please use plain text.
Developer
BGmot
Posts: 1,068
Registered: ‎11-24-2011
My Device: PlayBook
My Carrier: x

Re: DRe: BBM problem on BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha Simulator

I am impressed to see BBM server simulator implemented in BB10 device simulator but sorry, never played with this thus can't help. -(

Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,241
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: Bell

Re: DRe: BBM problem on BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha Simulator

Did you configure and run the BBM Server Simulator?  The steps to do so are found in the .\install_dir\BlackBerry10Simulator-BB10_0_09-1673\bbm\README.txt file.  Here they are for reference.

 

BBM Server Simulator README

Requirement:
1) Oracle Java SE 6
2) Oracle Java Cryptography Extension (JCE) Unlimited Strength Jurisdiction Policy Files 6
Download from Oracle Java web site http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/index.html
Unzip jce_policy-6.zip and follow the installation instructions in README.txt to install the two policy jar files.

Steps to run BBM server simulator


1) For Windows, run shortcut "Run BBM Server Simulator" to start BBM Server Simulator
For Mac, run runBB10Simulator.sh to start BBM Server Simulator
2) Start BB10 client simulator
3) Run Controller, go to Connection | Connect, click the record of the BB10 client simulator you want to configure, click Connect
4) Go to Device | BBIO | Connect to BBM Server, specify port 3101, type the IP address of the machine where BBM Server Simulator runs. The IP address cannot be 127.0.0.1 nor localhost even BBM Server Simulator runs on the same host machine as the client simulator. Click Connect.
5) Repeat from step 2 to 4 if there is more than one BB10 client simulator running.
6) Run BBM in the client simulator.
7) For Windows, run shortcut "Shutdown BBM Server Simulator" to stop BBM Server Simulator,
For Mac, run shutdown.sh to stop BBM Server Simulator

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Developer
apman
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎11-12-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: DRe: BBM problem on BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha Simulator

Sorry, this is probably a  load of dumb questions ... but is it possible to test BBM between a physical Dev Alpha and an instance of the simulator? do I also need to install the server simulator for that? (and how would I get my physical device to talk to that server ..?) Otherwise how do I open two instances of the simulator? (Windows, VMWare)

 

 


My app : Get set - Get up!   Get ready for the snooze revolution.

Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,241
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: Bell

Re: DRe: BBM problem on BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha Simulator

No, you can only go simulator to simulator or device to device.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Developer
apman
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎11-12-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: DRe: BBM problem on BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha Simulator

ah, ok - thanks!

So to open two simulators, would I have to install the VM twice in two different locations? or is there something in VM-Ware to create a temporary clone or so ...

 


My app : Get set - Get up!   Get ready for the snooze revolution.

Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,241
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: Bell

Re: DRe: BBM problem on BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha Simulator

Right.  You can either install it twice or just copy the install directory to a new location and open the VM image from there.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Developer
apman
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎11-12-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: DRe: BBM problem on BlackBerry 10 Dev Alpha Simulator

Cool, I'll try that!  Cheers!

Please use plain text.