Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Developer
unbreakable
My Device: Z30
My Carrier: O2

Best way to organise data in lists

Hi,

I am looking to do an app that has multiple lists (to be displayed on different pages). I've more or less figured out how to work with ListView etc. but I am still a noob and I just want to know what are the best practices if I want to create multiple lists.

Basically I have List A, B, C and I would like each item to have a checklist too. I have decided to use XML as my database. 

My questions are:

1. Should I create separate xml database files for the individual lists, or save them all in one big list (and then just call them by the rootIndexPath? And I assume this is possible?). 

2. I want to be able to update the list in the future, but I want to save any user input e.g. the checkbox input. What is the best way to do this? Must I create 2 different XML database for this? If so, how do I call on both of them at the same time and how should I join the 2 databases?

3. Is XML the best way to do this?

My data mostly consist of:

- Category (as sorted into List A, B, C already)

- ID

- Title

- Subtitle

- Status

- Summary

- Icon (for lists)

- (and potentially/ have not decided if I can do this yet), more Images.

Thanks in advance!!

Please use plain text.
Developer
BBSJdev
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: Orange

Re: Best way to organise data in lists

I mostly use XML for static data, for data that needs to be manipulated and updated I recommend using sql.

1) I would switch to using sql now to save a lot of work in the future, with sql you don't need to worry about how many levels of hierarchy you have you just produce a different query for each result you desire.