Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
New Contributor
doubin
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-01-2012
My Device: DevAlpha-10.0.6.386
My Carrier: Vodacom

Blackberry 10 Alpha Wifi not working

Hi

 

Got a demo 10 Dev Alpha Device but I can't connect to my Wifi.

 

Using 

 

Netgear ADSL Router DG834GT with WPA-PSK (Wi-Fi Protected Access Pre-Shared Key)

 

My laptop and a pc are connecting to it fine, I tried connecting via WPA Personal and WPA2 Personal

 

Get the same message each time

 

"Authentication timed out.

Please check your password and try again."

 

Thanks in advance

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,122
Likes: 23,020
Solutions: 5,923
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Blackberry 10 Alpha Wifi not working

[ Edited ]

This is not the right section to be posting for DevAlpha device support.

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Native-Development/tkb-p/native_sdk%40tkb

 

Please don't repost, let's get this one moved there.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Developer
rcmaniac25
Posts: 1,804
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.3253, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.634 Dev OS, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.634 Dev OS, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.0.1154, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Blackberry 10 Alpha Wifi not working

By a matter of chance, does your WiFi network have a hidden SSID?
---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
doubin
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-01-2012
My Device: DevAlpha-10.0.6.386
My Carrier: Vodacom

Re: Blackberry 10 Alpha Wifi not working

Nope SSID is not hidden, the name came up on the list of Wifi networks.

 

I think it might be the devices aerial, if I put the phone in line of sight 30 cm away from the router it connects.

When Igo around a corner 8 meters away and the signal indicator goes down with each step away from the router Laptop signal strength almost 100% (Excellent) in the same position as the Device.

 

Connected to a Cisco Router wireless router at work but I was right underneath it and even then the signal was not 100% 

 

Device the firmware now 10.0.6 Bundle 386 (Platform 10.0.6.386) 

Please use plain text.
Developer
rcmaniac25
Posts: 1,804
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.3253, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.634 Dev OS, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.634 Dev OS, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.0.1154, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Blackberry 10 Alpha Wifi not working

Ok. I have know what you mean with "Laptop signal strength almost 100%", device says 'really low'.

I ask about the hidden SSID because I can be sitting next to an access point with WPA2 and a hidden SSID and it still won't connect.
---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Please use plain text.