Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Contributor
actjak
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎05-02-2012
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: bouyig

Blackberry 10 dev alpha simulateur internet with proxy

I can not connect to internet the simulator because I have a proxy here is what appears when I connect.

(the connection function with a connection without a proxy)

 

 

error

 

The network is unavailabe. Please try again later.

 

I use Windows 7 and Network Adapter Nat

 

thank you for the help of avence

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,226
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Blackberry 10 dev alpha simulateur internet with proxy

You can configure VMWare to use a proxy server.  To do so...

 

  • Open VMWare
  • Click on the File menu
  • Choose Player Preferences
  • Click the Connection Settings button
  • Enter your proxy information.
Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Contributor
actjak
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎05-02-2012
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: bouyig

Re: Blackberry 10 dev alpha simulateur internet with proxy

thank you for the answer,

I try to do this we use windows internet setting but its not working.

More, whenVMware Virtual Ethernet Adapter for VMnet1 and VMware Virtual Ethernet Adapter for VMnet8 is enable  internet explorer does not Working, but google chrome working.

Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,226
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Blackberry 10 dev alpha simulator internet with proxy

The simulator uses the network configuration specified in VMWare.  There isn't a way to add or bypass VMWare's proxy configuration in the simulator itself.

 

I recommend you verify your proxy configuration information with your network administrator.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Contributor
vrobison
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
My Device: Blackberry 10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Blackberry 10 dev alpha simulator internet with proxy

I looked for VMWare  the settings you refer to, but the VMWare player does not seem to have any proxy setting options.  The Virtual Machine settings show Network Adapter settings for the method of virtualizing the connection (Bridged, NAT, Host Only), but there is no place to enter a proxy server address and port.  

 

Without a proxy, it makes it very difficult to debug web applications.  Typcially I use Fiddler, which dumps all HTTP session data on the fly.

 

Thanks.

 

Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,226
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Blackberry 10 dev alpha simulator internet with proxy

What version of VMWare Player are you using?
Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Contributor
vrobison
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
My Device: Blackberry 10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Blackberry 10 dev alpha simulator internet with proxy

VFMware Player 5.0.0 build-812388.  I found the settings you were refering to, but unfortunately, those settings are only used by the player to connect to the VMWare Update server as shown in the VMWare help file: "You can use configure connection settings to use a proxy server to connect to the VMware Update Server".  

 

They dont actually have any affect on the virtual machine's access to the internet for web browsing.

Please use plain text.
Contributor
kosh0r
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎01-22-2013
My Device: BB10 Simulator, BB10 Dev Alpha B, Playbook OS 2.1
My Carrier: asdf

Re: Blackberry 10 dev alpha simulateur internet with proxy

i can verify that.

 

is there any solution to this problem?

Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,226
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Blackberry 10 dev alpha simulateur internet with proxy

Try to configure the proxy for the simulated WiFi network you are connected to.  To do so go to Settings -> Network Connections -> Wi-Fi -> Saved -> select WiFi network and enable "Use HTTP proxy", filling in the proxy details.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Contributor
kosh0r
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎01-22-2013
My Device: BB10 Simulator, BB10 Dev Alpha B, Playbook OS 2.1
My Carrier: asdf

Re: Blackberry 10 dev alpha simulateur internet with proxy

In the simulator? Well i cant i find any Wifi-Networks in the SImulator.

 

Mode is set to bridged, the VMnet8 is configured.

Please use plain text.