Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Contributor
paul2020
My Device: PlayBook with Torch 9810 - Love the Torch !!!
My Carrier: Rogers
Accepted Solution

C++ or Cascades or HTML5 for BB10

Hi Everyone,

I am new to BB development and although I have done some VB work and some HTML work, I am a bit stuck on which direction to follow.  The application I want to develop is a business application with a decent amount of business logic going on in the background.   Since I am not developing a game that requires super fast processing speed nor lots of custom screens, I was thinking of using the Cascades system.  Am I right? Or should I be developing in C++ (which I don't currently know).

I also have seen somewhere that there is a VB plug-in for BB10?  Is this a suitable path to follow - develop in VB which I already know?

C++

Cascades

VB

Any thoughts on the pro's and con's of each approach would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Paul

Please use plain text.
New Developer
gooslap
My Device: Blackberry Playbook
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: C++ or Cascades or HTML5 for BB10

Hi Paul,

Learning to use C++ will take some time. Reading books and experimenting using the BB10 native sdk will be pretty awesome though if you choose that path. C++ has a lot of features, and you surely won't need them all, but it can be overwhelming. The benefit to using C++ is you get the greatest amount of power and flexibility.

Given your current experience level, you might want to learn Javascript so you can do HTML 5 or QML + Javascript. Check out the link below which has more information. 

https://bdsc.webapps.blackberry.com/cascades/documentation/ui/javascript/index.html

If you do decide to learn Javascript, I recommend the book "Javascript: The Good Parts" by Douglas Crockford.