Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
hungcotac
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎01-05-2013
My Device: BB10
Accepted Solution

Cannot Display image on Dev Alpha A

Hi

I deploy my application on both simulator and Dev Alpha A but some large image cannot display on Dev Alpha but still work smoothly on simulator. 

Any one tell my why???? 

 

Developer
peter9477
Posts: 6,473
Registered: ‎12-08-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10

Re: Cannot Display image on Dev Alpha A

Any idea what size is too large? Is it around 2048 pixels in either direction?

Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
Developer
hungcotac
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎01-05-2013
My Device: BB10

Re: Cannot Display image on Dev Alpha A

Yes. but why have different between simulator and dev alpha ??
Developer
peter9477
Posts: 6,473
Registered: ‎12-08-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10

Re: Cannot Display image on Dev Alpha A

Probably because the simulator doesn't support hardware acceleration for OpenGL stuff (partly guessing here) whereas the hardware has to. There's a limit to bitmaps of 2048x2048 in some places, so if you're dealing with larger images you'll need to chop them up and tile them (if that's helpful) or scale them, as I understand it...

Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
Developer
hungcotac
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎01-05-2013
My Device: BB10

Re: Cannot Display image on Dev Alpha A

But it work on Simulator and doesn't work on real Device :smileysurprised:
Developer
peter9477
Posts: 6,473
Registered: ‎12-08-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10

Re: Cannot Display image on Dev Alpha A

My point was that the hardware OpenGL has limitations (2048x2048) which the simulator may not be subject to. This is speculation on my part.

Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
Developer
dishooom
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎12-31-2012
My Device: Blackberry 9810

Re: Cannot Display image on Dev Alpha A

Seems true...

 

The max texture size for Dev Alpha simulator has been specified to be 8192 pixels by 8192 pixels.

 

See this http://developer.blackberry.com/native/documentation/bb10/understand_the_blackberry_dev_alpha_simula...

 

This may not be the case with actual hardware.

 

- Dishooom

Developer
peter9477
Posts: 6,473
Registered: ‎12-08-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10

Re: Cannot Display image on Dev Alpha A

Last time I queried it, OpenGL ES 2.0 responded with this data for the Dev Alpha A:

0x0d33 GL_MAX_TEXTURE_SIZE: [2048]

Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
Developer
borceg
Posts: 671
Registered: ‎03-21-2012
My Device: BlackBerry PlayBook 16GB

Re: Cannot Display image on Dev Alpha A

[ Edited ]

As Peter said, it's hardware limitation imposed by the GPU chip. PowerVR SGX540 which is present in PlayBook and Dev Alpha A limits GL_MAX_TEXTURE_SIZE for both ES 1.1 and ES 2.0 to 2048 pixels by 2048 pixels. Dev Alpha B uses OMAP 4470 with SGX544 GPU, which should allow up to 4096x4096 pixels (at least that is written in cpu's whitepaper)