Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Regular Contributor
Marker
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎01-12-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: 3

Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

Will cascades only be released for BB10 or for Playbook as well?

 

https://bdsc.webapps.blackberry.com/devzone/platforms/ndk/ 

 

 

Please use plain text.
New Developer
npross
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎02-26-2012
My Device: Playbook, Bold 9900
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

Yes is there is a BB10 path for the playbook and what the timeframe is.  A simple definitive yes/no would be nice. Developing for a simulator is ok but having a real device is quite different. For those of us who coudn't make it to florida this week it would be nice to know. 

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
lcocea
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎02-29-2012
My Device: PlayBook & Nexus 4

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

[ Edited ]

The way I see it, Cascades is the native development kit for BB10. But will software developed in the Native Tablet OS SDK run on BB10? Will these apps be easy to rebuild in Cascades or will porting native apps from Tablet OS to BB10 require extensive modifications?

Please use plain text.
Developer
borceg
Posts: 671
Registered: ‎03-21-2012
My Device: BlackBerry PlayBook 16GB
My Carrier: Vip

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

At this moment, officially through the new Cascades NDK (BB10 NDK) I can't launch/deploy anything to PlayBook device. Keeps failing due to missing libraries.

Manually adding libraries fails for now
Please use plain text.
Developer
rcmaniac25
Posts: 1,804
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.3253, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.634 Dev OS, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.634 Dev OS, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.0.1154, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

A timeframe would be nice but I expect it will come eventually as RIM has said that BB10 will come to the PlayBook. When? That just restates the previous statement.
---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
lcocea
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎02-29-2012
My Device: PlayBook & Nexus 4

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

[ Edited ]

If Scrapbook really uses the new UI then those libs are already compatible with Tablet OS and they could be included in an update. Just saying.

Please use plain text.
Developer
rcmaniac25
Posts: 1,804
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.3253, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.634 Dev OS, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.634 Dev OS, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.0.1154, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

Well there is a library called "cascades.so" on the device. Whether the NDK links to it or not is a different story.
---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Please use plain text.
Developer
alopix
Posts: 412
Registered: ‎04-10-2011
My Device: Z10 LE & PlayBook

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

Yeah, it would be really nice to have that awesome UI for the PlayBook too :smileyvery-happy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Check out my apps in the BlackBerry World
Visit my developer blogs /dev/alopix and /home/alopix
BBM Channel: C0047B612
Please use plain text.
Developer
br14
Posts: 497
Registered: ‎06-24-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

Bearing in mind a wireless Playbook must be ready for launch any time, I'm sure we could expect Cascades on the Playbook shortly.

 

Whether you'd want to use it in its current form is another question. Don't know the experience of others, but building and deploying a Cascades app onto the simulator on my workstation takes a long time.

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
lcocea
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎02-29-2012
My Device: PlayBook & Nexus 4

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

[ Edited ]

Um... what's a "wireless Playbook"? Mine has WiFi, so it's wireless.

Please use plain text.