Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Trusted Contributor
lcocea
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎02-29-2012
My Device: PlayBook & Nexus 4

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

Interesting, the BB10 simulator screen is larger than the Tablet OS 2.0 simulator screen.

Developer
br14
Posts: 498
Registered: ‎06-24-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

Sorry. How about cellular wireless Playbook? A Playbook requiring a cellular radio protocol stack similar to that required for a cellular "smart" phone. And therefore quite likely to have the same or similar OS to that on the BB10 Alpha. 

 

"Wireless" used to abbreviate "cellular wireless". Lazy I know, but not uncommon.

 

My cellular wireless provider, for example, has a tab on it's shopping site titled "Wireless". Meaning cellular phones are displayed for sale.

 

Developer
br14
Posts: 498
Registered: ‎06-24-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

"Interesting, the BB10 simulator screen is larger than the Tablet OS 2.0 simulator screen"

 

The screen display is 1280x768 on a 4.2" screen so more than twice the pixel density of the Playbook and four times that of my workstation monitor.

Trusted Contributor
lcocea
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎02-29-2012
My Device: PlayBook & Nexus 4

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

[ Edited ]

Wow! This looks great. It's almost equal to the pixel size of a Galaxy Note but on slightly smaller smartphone screen.

Developer
guru2000at
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎02-25-2011
My Device: Playbook, q5, z10

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

installation of a test cascades app does work, but it didn't start ... 

________________
mappau Dev Team
blackberry@mappau.com
twitter: mappau
New Contributor
globtech
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-26-2012
My Device: Playbook 2.0

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

Maybe this could help (lokk at the first screenshot), it sais this app would be avalaible in spring 2012, so maybe compatibility with Cascades for Playbook 2.0? :

http://forums.crackberry.com/playbook-apps-games-f243/pacemaker-music-app-first-cascades-app-720188/

 

I tried to copy those file (from Qt) + libQtCascades.so from bbndk 10 libs folder into a local folder called "lib".

 

Then I modified the bar-descriptor file like that 

<env var="LD_LIBRARY_PATH" value="app/native/lib"/>
    
<asset path="lib">lib</asset>

 

Can compile and try to install it however I block when it says it's require OS 10... I saw some of you did succeed to install app, how did you fixed it.

 

 

Thanks!

Trusted Contributor
lcocea
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎02-29-2012
My Device: PlayBook & Nexus 4

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

[ Edited ]

Well, NDK 10 is a beta and the simulator is an alpha release. It may be a few months before we can effectively develop apps for BB10.

Developer
alopix
Posts: 419
Registered: ‎04-10-2011
My Device: Z10 LE & PlayBook

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

It is possible to run Cascades apps on the PlayBook. After maybe 10 minutes I was able to launch the HelloWorld app on the PlayBook :smileyvery-happy:

It looks ok, but I'm not sure if it's that stable yet. The first think I noticed is that the ActionBar is twice as high on the PlayBook, so even though you can compile Cascades apps for the PlayBook, the native UI elements won't look that great.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Check out my apps in the BlackBerry World
Visit my developer blogs /dev/alopix and /home/alopix
BBM Channel: C0047B612
Developer
rcmaniac25
Posts: 1,805
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.3253, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.997 Dev OS, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.997 Dev OS, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.0.1418, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

Interesting. Can you explain how you got it to work?
---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Developer
alopix
Posts: 419
Registered: ‎04-10-2011
My Device: Z10 LE & PlayBook

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

I wrote about it in my blog! Enjoy :smileyhappy:
http://dev.alopix.net/2012/06/howto-use-blackberry-10-cascades-ui.html
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Check out my apps in the BlackBerry World
Visit my developer blogs /dev/alopix and /home/alopix
BBM Channel: C0047B612