Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-28-2012
My Device: Playbook

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

I started developing on webworks, now i want to try cascades. I followed alopix's instructions but my hello world app crashes after the blackberry loading screen.

Any suggestions?

 

I get this error:

ldd:FATAL: Unresolved symbol "_ZN28QNXWebCompositingMessageLoopC1EP35IQNXWebCompositingMessageLoopClient" called from libQtCascades.so

Developer
Posts: 419
Registered: ‎04-10-2011
My Device: Z10 LE & PlayBook

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

[ Edited ]

Are you using the PlayBook simulator or the device.
My instructions are for the actual device. If you want to use it on the simulator, use the libraries inside the target/qnx6/x86 folder.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Check out my apps in the BlackBerry World
Visit my developer blogs /dev/alopix and /home/alopix
BBM Channel: C0047B612
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-28-2012
My Device: Playbook

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

Im trying to use it on my playbook. Shouldn't I use the libs from armle-v7?

Developer
Posts: 419
Registered: ‎04-10-2011
My Device: Z10 LE & PlayBook

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

Sorry, wanted to write:
armle-v7 for the PlayBook and x86 for the simulator.
Are you using the Momentics IDE to create the project? Worked for me out of the box when creating it via the project setup.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Check out my apps in the BlackBerry World
Visit my developer blogs /dev/alopix and /home/alopix
BBM Channel: C0047B612
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-28-2012
My Device: Playbook

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

Yes, but i have OS 2.0.1.358, can this be a problem? (i wrote this for the platformVersion as well)

Developer
Posts: 419
Registered: ‎04-10-2011
My Device: Z10 LE & PlayBook

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

I think I already updated to the 2.1 beta, but I don't think this is the problem.
Is your lib folder included in the build as described in the blog post?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Check out my apps in the BlackBerry World
Visit my developer blogs /dev/alopix and /home/alopix
BBM Channel: C0047B612
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-28-2012
My Device: Playbook

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

Yes it is, i just read it again, everything should be fine, the rich editor doesnt allow me to chose any other OS than OS 10 though, so i modified it with text.

 

I try to collect the libs again maybe i missed out something.. :smileyfrustrated:

Developer
Posts: 419
Registered: ‎04-10-2011
My Device: Z10 LE & PlayBook

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

Try installing the Google native SDK. Maybe that's required to let you select the right platformVersion.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Check out my apps in the BlackBerry World
Visit my developer blogs /dev/alopix and /home/alopix
BBM Channel: C0047B612
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-28-2012
My Device: Playbook

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

Ok, collected a libs again, nothing changed, i gonna try with google native, but just tomorrow, some hours of it was enough for today.. :smileyvery-happy: There must something easy and obvios what i miss out..

Also, you wrote that all the libs can be found in the cascade.bar but, theres much less, than what i found in armle-v7 folder. I found at least 40MB of so.4 files, if not more.

Im using 10.0.4.

 

Developer
Posts: 419
Registered: ‎04-10-2011
My Device: Z10 LE & PlayBook

Re: Cascades only for BB10 and not for Playbook?

You have to use ALL the files from your armle folder. Only this one single file from the bar I mentioned.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Check out my apps in the BlackBerry World
Visit my developer blogs /dev/alopix and /home/alopix
BBM Channel: C0047B612