Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Developer
My Device: Playbook
Accepted Solution

Couple of questions coming from 'pure' QML and Symbian/Harmattan Qt Components

[ Edited ]

Hi guys,

today was my first day with Cascades and I'm having a couple of questions that I hope someone here can answer. I've used Qt/QML before but only on Desktop and Nokia handsets so I'm a noob regarding Blackberry and Cascades. I stumbled over those questions today while trying to port Conboy from Nokia N9 to BB10.

1) It looks like I cannot use plain QML elements like Rectangle in Cascades. Is that right or is there maybe a Cascades wrapper element that allows me to use plain QML elements inside? If there is no such thing, what is the equivalent to Rectangle and especially Flickable?

2) How can I integrate a QGraphicsItem? In pure Qt I can simply export it from C++ and use it inside QML, but that does not work with Cascades. Do I have to implement bb::cascades::Control or even bb::cascades::VisualNode?

3) Cascades itself is not open-source, or is it? (I was looking on how to implement my own Control)

4) The UI guidelines talk about a Title Bar. What's the corresponding Cascades element?

5) The UI guidelines suggest to place the 'delete' action on the bottom of the ActionBar-OverflowMenu. How do I do that?

6) How can I access icons from default actions like 'new', 'previous', 'next', 'play', 'pause', 'favorite', etc...?