Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
contryboy
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎08-16-2012
My Device: BB10 Dev Alpha
Accepted Solution

Does it support rich text display?

[ Edited ]

I am trying to create a UI for a list of micro blog content, and it would be grate to display multi-line rich text that has some icons inside text lines. 

So far, i do not see a multi-line label, I searched this forum, it is said to be supported in the future. 

And would rich text also be supported in the future?

 

Thanks,

Dong

BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
mgoulet
Posts: 329
Registered: ‎05-07-2012
My Device: BB Alpha

Re: Does it support rich text display?

Hi there,

 

Indeed, currently this is not supported. An alternative solution would be to use a WebView component using HTML5 to control what is displayed; Have you looked at the WebView component?

 

Martin

 

Developer
contryboy
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎08-16-2012
My Device: BB10 Dev Alpha

Re: Does it support rich text display?

Yes, i tried the WebView component, the display looks good, but the it loads content very slowly. In a list, other components(e.g. Labels) are displayed very quickly, but it takes another 5 seconds to display the WebView content. Even though the content already set by "html:" property.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
mgoulet
Posts: 329
Registered: ‎05-07-2012
My Device: BB Alpha

Re: Does it support rich text display?

There is a feature request related to a customizeable rich textfield; I would recommend voting for it here:

https://www.blackberry.com/jira/browse/BBTEN-184

 

Thanks!

 

Martin

 

Developer
kylefowler
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎05-17-2009
My Device: 9900

Re: Does it support rich text display?

Its also on the top of the list for the cascades road map for september.

Like all of my posts
Developer
helex
Posts: 293
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
My Device: Nokia N950 / BB Playbook

Re: Does it support rich text display?

Has anyone discovered how to use it since the Beta 3?

 

It were in the Roadmap, it is mentioned in the Release notes, but I'm unable to discover it how to use it.

 

Is it a new control, have I to enable it at a Label or have I to use TextArea?

 

The only thing I were able to find was: inputMode: TextAreaInputMode.Chat at TextArea. But thats not the same. :smileyhappy:

Developer
helex
Posts: 293
Registered: ‎02-14-2012
My Device: Nokia N950 / BB Playbook

Re: Does it support rich text display?

Okay, finally a solution:

 

Use TextArea, wrap your text into <html> </html> tags and make your text bold using <b> </b>.

 

Hope this helps someone! :smileyhappy: