Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
Tobster_
Posts: 262
Registered: ‎07-20-2012
My Device: Blackberry Z10 (White), BlackBerry Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: O2 UK

Dynamic Active Frame

Hello,

 

I'm currently working with the Bucket list Sample, for my next Cascades application.

 

I was wondering, how do I set up the active frame to display recent to-do items?

 

I already have it set up to show an image but I would like to change it to what I've mentioned above, if possible.

 

Thanks in advance :smileyhappy:

Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 16,113
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: Dynamic Active Frame

the active frame can be set to anything you want. You create a SceneCover and set a container as content, then put whatever you like into the container.

If you can create the view in your normal UI you can also create it on the scene cover.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Dynamic Active Frame

I have a sample where I implemented this logic in a separate class, may be helpful:

https://github.com/blackberry/Cascades-Community-Samples/blob/master/SimplePushClient/10.2.1/SimpleP...

 

There may be other samples out there, but I'll promote mine where I can :smileyhappy:

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Developer
bcs925
Posts: 262
Registered: ‎07-13-2012
My Device: PlayBook, DA B, DA C, LE Z10 #102, Q10, Z30
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Dynamic Active Frame

I have an article and video (13 mins, kinda long but very indepth) where I first setup a static active frame (which it sounds like you already have) then a dynamic one (sounds like what you want).

 

I have it simply update with a label of a number based on a timer every second. However you can take that same method and update a label/textarea/etc based off a timer of every minute or so (60000ms rather than 1000ms) and get your desired result.

 

article: http://crackberry.com/weekend-coder-dynamic-active-frames-your-app

video (also in article): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8CtusZ93v98

sample code of dynamic active frame (also in article): https://github.com/bcs925/CrackBerry/tree/master/DynamicFrame

---
Check out my BB10 Cascades Coding site: BBcascades.com & Cascades Blog: bbcascadescode.tumblr.com

My Built for BlackBerry app: The Dive Plan
Please use plain text.
Developer
Tobster_
Posts: 262
Registered: ‎07-20-2012
My Device: Blackberry Z10 (White), BlackBerry Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: O2 UK

Re: Dynamic Active Frame

[ Edited ]

Thanks Brian,

I looked into your tutorial before and I'll give it a go now and report back

Please use plain text.
Developer
Tobster_
Posts: 262
Registered: ‎07-20-2012
My Device: Blackberry Z10 (White), BlackBerry Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: O2 UK

Re: Dynamic Active Frame

Thanks Garett,

I'll check this out too and get back to you
Please use plain text.