Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

New Contributor
Lester_Burnham
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: O2

Eclipse? Qt Creator? Where to start?! I'm confused!

Hello everybody! I'm new here, so I'll quickly introduce myself. My name's Pete and although I'm not a software developer, I do have to do some C++ coding as part of my engineering job (and use the Eclipse IDE! Hooray!) Last month I bought a PlayBook and noticing that there weren't many free apps targetting the PlayBook, I thought it would be nice to try and boost the library!

So, last week I downloaded the NDK after reading some of the documentation. After some initial confusion and a lot of reading, I discovered that when you program for the PlayBook, you really are programming it "raw" so to speak. There are no "built-in" widgets to call via APIs... This can be a blessing or a curse depending on what you are trying to acheive!

So I read some more and discover that Qt should fill this gap. "Great!" I thought, but now I've downloaded and installed Qt from the link on this page:http://openbbnews.wordpress.com/2012/02/24/qt-update/ and I have no idea how to get started...

I have read the instructions here: http://wiki.qt-project.org/QNX - but they refer to using the command line in Linux. I wouldn't rule this out, but I was hoping to do the development on my laptop which currently runs Windows 7 and I don't want to install Linux just to develop for the Playbook.

The bigger confusion for me is what IDE (if any) I should be using?