Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Highlighted
Developer
My Device: BlackBerry RED Z10
My Carrier: WiFi
Accepted Solution

HELP Drawing and Adding Captions to Image

[ Edited ]

Please forgive my english and my beginner skills. I am really new to QT, QPainter and Graphics Programming.

I am developing the snap2chat application.  And I badly need help with Drawing and Adding Text Captions to Images.

I have tried QPainter to paint Brushes in the image and save it. But it is really slow. Also I added onTouch event on the image and passed the localX and localY and that's the position I also used for the QPainter to paint on and is not the right position to paint too.

and also the image get's bluish when I start to paint.

QImage theimage = QImage(imagePath);

QPainter painter(&theimage);
	painter.setRenderHint(QPainter::Antialiasing, true);
	painter.setPen(QPen(Qt::transparent, 3, Qt::SolidLine, Qt::RoundCap)); // stroke
	painter.setBrush(QBrush(Qt::green, Qt::SolidPattern)); // fill
	painter.drawEllipse(x, y, 10, 10);

//theimage.save(imagePath, "JPG"); // I also tried uncommenting this

const bb::ImageData imageData = bb::ImageData::fromPixels(theimage.bits(), bb::PixelFormat::RGBX, theimage.width(), theimage.height(), theimage.bytesPerLine());

m_image = bb::cascades::Image(imageData); // this is the image I show in the ImageView

Also drawing texts using QPainter crashes it with the reason of the QFontDatabase. I saw a solution in another thread to add this line <env var="QT_QPA_FONTDIR" value="/usr/lib/qt4/lib/fonts"/> but didn't helped.

Any suggestions please?

Developer
My Device: Red Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: HELP Drawing and Adding Captions to Image

Unforutnately the QT Painter draw text method is not supported, it's too deeply integrated into the QT Core.