Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Trusted Contributor
cjonesy
My Device: 9900

How can I create a ui with my code for 2.1

Hi all,

I have code which uses screen.h currently to display video frames from ffmpeg. I am now trying to create a simple user interface for this code.

However it seems its not as simple as it sounds, I still have some questions after a lot of researching. I only need a few buttons, textviews and images but its looking like I might have to recode a lot of it just to have ui controls.

Will QT be ok for this? I can't understand if by me using screen.h then does it makes QT unusable for me? (I have no experience with QT - currently cant even build it).

Can EGL be used for simple ui controls and is screen.h compatible with EGL?

Is there any other advice for my situation?

I really appreciate any suggestions.

Please use plain text.
Contributor
mcguire
My Device: Blackberry Dev Alpha

Re: How can I create a ui with my code for 2.1

Qt and screen.h don't integrate - either you paint your windows with Qt, or with libscreen, but they can't be combined. Mainly because Qt doesn't expose the internal screen resources it uses, like screen_window_t, in any API.

You could of course ditch libscreen completely and draw everything with Qt, even the videos.

As for building Qt, please see http://qt-project.org/wiki/Blackberry, it has instructions for both Qt4 and Qt5.

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
cjonesy

Thanks for your reply mcguire,

It was a difficult task learning how to paint the frames from ffmpeg AVPacket to screen.h and it works great so if I can stick with that then great. So what is the way to create a button with screen.h?

If no way for screen, would it be difficult do you think to change the painting code to qt for someone who has never touched it before?