Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
Zingam
Posts: 187
Registered: ‎05-09-2012
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE

How to configure Qt Creator 2.6?

I am trying to configure Qt Creator 2.6 RC to work with Playbook NDK and/or BB10 SDK.

According to these instuctions (which maybe out of date now):

http://qt-project.org/wiki/Setting-up-Qt-Creator-for-BlackBerry-and-QNX

After I complete everything the following should be possible:

 

Compile and Deploy an application for BlackBerry

When selecting ‘File -> New File or Project…’ entry, you’ll see now templates for BlackBerry applications. Select one of these and follow the wizard. Go to ‘Projects -> Targets -> Run’ and select the ‘<projectname> on BlackBerry device’ entry from the combobox in ‘Run configuration’.

Now you can compile and deploy the applications like done with a normal QtCreator setup and you will see it running on your BlackBerry device.

 

Well but I don't see any templates for BB and even if I add bar-descriptor.xml. I still cannot compile anything successuflly.

I have set all these variables to Windows $BBNDK, $QNX_HOST etc.

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
jheron
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎01-27-2012
My Device: playbook

Re: How to configure Qt Creator 2.6?

In creator you need to go to Help->About Pluggins and enable QNX under device support. Then close and reopen creator, go to Tools->Options->devices and select blackberry device.

It works great!

Cheers,

Jon

Please use plain text.
Developer
Zingam
Posts: 187
Registered: ‎05-09-2012
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE

Re: How to configure Qt Creator 2.6?

Actually in this version the QNX plugin seems to be official and is already enabled by default or at least it remembers my previous settins. Anyways it is already enabled.

Please use plain text.
Developer
jheron
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎01-27-2012
My Device: playbook

Re: How to configure Qt Creator 2.6?

I am using creator 2.5.83 (included with necessitas) and I see all the templates.

Screenshot from 2012-10-18 11:18:35.png

I am not sure what the issue is...

Good luck!

Jon

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
oniongarlic
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎10-19-2012
My Device: Playbook, BB10DevAlphaB

Re: How to configure Qt Creator 2.6?

You need to configure Compiler, Qt and Target as described on the page. Templates showed up after doing that.
Please use plain text.
New Developer
vladest
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎06-16-2012
My Device: N950/E7/N808/N9/X7/BB10 Alpha

Re: How to configure Qt Creator 2.6?

[ Edited ]

another question about QtCreator: how to make cascades code auto completion works for qml files?

Qt/Symbian/Meego/BB10/Cascades developer
Please use plain text.
Developer
Zingam
Posts: 187
Registered: ‎05-09-2012
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE

Re: How to configure Qt Creator 2.6?

[ Edited ]

After I have spent a full day on this, today the wizzards magically appeared. Unfortunately I still cannot compile using the bryanh99's build.

 

I haven't done anything more different than before.

Have you configured Qt Creator for BB10 simulator successfully?

Please use plain text.
Developer
Zingam
Posts: 187
Registered: ‎05-09-2012
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE

Re: How to configure Qt Creator 2.6?

[ Edited ]

Can Qt Creator 2.6 be configured to use the Qt from the BB10 NDK and to have the simulator and the device as targets?

 

I've tried it but I get that the compiler is incompatible (ABI error) and I don't get the wizards again.

Please use plain text.
Developer
dridk
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
My Device: bb10 alpha

Re: How to configure Qt Creator 2.6?

Could someone make a video tutorial ? 

Using Qt4 & QtCreator instead cascade would be appreciate by all

a lover of Qt
Please use plain text.
Developer
jheron
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎01-27-2012
My Device: playbook

Re: How to configure Qt Creator 2.6?

Did you ever figure out what you did to get it to work?

I just ran into the same issue as you after a fresh OS install, the bb wizards are gone and it wont package the bar file. Though it does compile fine.

As far as using the x86 libs for the sim, yes, it worked fine last spring at least, before I gave up on the horrible simulator...  I had creator configured for the sim and the playbook with no issues using the old creator from bb"s github.

Cheers,

Jon

Please use plain text.