Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
New Developer
Srk_bb2012
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎03-28-2012
My Device: shravan.pottala@gmail.com
My Carrier: Airtel

How to port a Qt based application into BalackBery i.e BAR format?

How to port a Qt based  application into BalackBery     i.e BAR format?

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: How to port a Qt based application into BalackBery i.e BAR format?

Hi there,

 

You have a few options:

1) Compile the Qt ported library in Linux then use this with the BlackBerry NDK to convert your Qt app

2) If you are familiar with Qt Creator then there is a special version created specifically for PlayBook development:

https://github.com/blackberry/Qt/downloads

 

Cheers,

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
New Developer
PlayBookDave
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎01-09-2012
My Device: PlayBook
My Carrier: Fido

Re: How to port a Qt based application into BalackBery i.e BAR format?

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: How to port a Qt based application into BalackBery i.e BAR format?

Yep, that's what is linked in my post :smileyhappy:

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
New Developer
Srk_bb2012
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎03-28-2012
My Device: shravan.pottala@gmail.com
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: How to port a Qt based application into BalackBery i.e BAR format?

Ok  After Instaling what are the steps to be foillowed to port my Qt application to .BAR format and make it work on BalackBerry palyBook?

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
New Developer
Srk_bb2012
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎03-28-2012
My Device: shravan.pottala@gmail.com
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: How to port a Qt based application into BalackBery i.e BAR format?

Please guide me the steps after installing the Qt PlayBook       to porp to .BAR format.

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: How to port a Qt based application into BalackBery i.e BAR format?

You'll need to set up a device and debug token.

 

Creating a Debug Token:

Do you have debug token created? If not, do you have a BlackBerry PlayBook SDK installed?

 

Setting Up a Target Device For Testing:

From Qt Creator select Tools > Options > Linux Devices > Add... > QNX device > Start Wizard

This will set up a target device that you can use for testing.

 

Create a New BB Project:

File > New File or Project... > BlackBerry Qt [Gui/Quick] Application 

After the project is created you can import your resources then *should* be fine to just build and deploy to your set device. 

 

This is new, so if you have any issues or feedback please send them along.

 

Cheers,

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
New Developer
Srk_bb2012
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎03-28-2012
My Device: shravan.pottala@gmail.com
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: How to port a Qt based application into BalackBery i.e BAR format?

Thank you for your reply Today  I tried to create and bulida new BB  project.

 

 

I followed

File > New File or Project... > BlackBerry Qt [Gui/Quick] Application.

 

Note :I dont have any BB device with me. I want to test on simulator only at present..

 

I selected Target as Qt 4.8.1  for  Plabook Debug. When I tried to compile . It gave error as"No hostname specified for device

Error while building/deploying project BB1 (target: QNX Arm)

When executing step ''"

 

 

Then  I  edited the Run settings  

In that  I clecked on Manage Device Configurations, then added QNX devcie .

 

 

Than again it asked for device host name or ip adress and device password.

 

 

what should  I   give      here?      as I want to test on Simulator only.

 

waht will be my device apssword and host ame/

 



Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: How to port a Qt based application into BalackBery i.e BAR format?

No password is required for the simulator. For the hostname use the IP of the simulator. This can be seen by clicking on the Development Mode icon found in the top section of the simulator home screen (it looks like a person with a gear).

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
New Developer
Srk_bb2012
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎03-28-2012
My Device: shravan.pottala@gmail.com
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: How to port a Qt based application into BalackBery i.e BAR format?

Ok try your  suggestions and let you know again.

Please use plain text.