Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Contributor
aaronmotek
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

ImageView - cascades noob question

Please bare with me, as I'm new to QT & Cascades and trying to learn by hacking up a small app..

The Dev Alpha is missing a photo viewer, so it seemed like an obvious candidate for a first app.

I've managed to read the filesystem, and list all the images from the Camera directory, however.. I'm having trouble displaying any large camera images as an ImageView (small, non-camera images/screenshots display fine).  The debugger shows this error in the console:

"ERR: Image '/sdcard/DCIM/Camera/IMG_00000001.jpg' texture size 1836x3264 exceeds GL implementation max 2048"

This was created via:

ImageView *image = ImageView::create("'/sdcard/DCIM/Camera/IMG_00000001.jpg").preferredSize(300,300);

The 300x300 preferred size doesn't seem to help - i'm assuming that's a post-scale after the image is already copied into memory.  Is there a recommended way to pre-scale the Image before passing it into ImageView, or another recommended way to handle this type of situation?

Thanks for your help.

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
s_rashid
My Device: Bold
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: ImageView - cascades noob question

Hello,

There is a limit to the dimensions of the pictures which can be handled by this call : 2048. For pictures above this, you can do the following...

Quoting one of the experts:

You can load up the image manually from the file into a QImage (http://qt-project.org/doc/qt-4.8/QImage.html), and then resize the image before setting the pixel buffers to set on the ImageView (https://bdsc.webapps.blackberry.com/cascades/reference/bb__cascades__ImageView.html).

QImage previewImage;
if(previewImage.load("filename")){