Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
smiley
Posts: 1,497
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Z10

Is Android apps bypassing OS security?

I do not like Android player and I think it hurts royal BB developers.

 

I was developing a voice memo application using Casacde and was trying to record a phone call and of course BB disable this feature like on OS7 and Java apps.  But then when I try a android app it records phone call fine.

 

So does this mean android apps can bypass OS layer security?

 

Developer
Ebscer
Posts: 875
Registered: ‎08-31-2009
My Device: 9530, 9630, 9800, 8530, 9900, 9810, 9930, PlayBook, Dev Alpha

Re: Is Android apps bypassing OS security?

Nope.

 

Android app have the same security as anything else...


Read my thoughts on BlackBerry Development at news.ebscer.com
Developer
smiley
Posts: 1,497
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Z10

Re: Is Android apps bypassing OS security?

then explain why android apps can access resources not available thru cascade apps.

Developer
slashkyle
Posts: 820
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
My Device: Red Z10

Re: Is Android apps bypassing OS security?

[ Edited ]

not absolutely sure why android can do it but i do know that currently there is a ton of stuff that cascades cannot do that has to be done by other means

 

invocation & fonts to name a few

Regular Contributor
janetsa
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎11-13-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Is Android apps bypassing OS security?

>>>So does this mean android apps can bypass OS layer security?

 

Yes --- which is precisely why Android runtime can only reside on the Personal side of BB10 handsets --- and not the corporate side when Blackberry Balance is turned on.

BlackBerry Development Advisor
smcveigh
Posts: 668
Registered: ‎11-29-2011
My Device: developer

Re: Is Android apps bypassing OS security?

Can you point me to this Android app that records phone calls?

 

Developer
smiley
Posts: 1,497
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Z10

Re: Is Android apps bypassing OS security?


smcveigh wrote:

Can you point me to this Android app that records phone calls?

 


HI

 

Here is the link http://appworld.blackberry.com/webstore/content/21794220

 

I have not tried other Android recording apps but I believe all of them will work since they use the same audio api.

 

 

Retired
gsandhu
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Is Android apps bypassing OS security?

[ Edited ]

Please note Android applications are not recording anything but audio from the microphone during on active Phone Call. If the user turns on the speakerphone then the conversation can be recorded but this is not using any native call recording functionality.  This approach is not possible in Cascades/NDK because our native runtime ensures that the audio gets preempted during an active phone call.

Developer
zezke
Posts: 1,004
Registered: ‎12-12-2010
My Device: Z10 (red Limited Edition)

Re: Is Android apps bypassing OS security?

Thanks for the information, very usefull.

-------------------------------------------
BlackBerry Certified Builder for Native Application Development -- Proud member of the Belgian BlackBerry Developer group
Samples: Park in Ghent
Feeling generous? Nominate me for BB Elite member!
Developer
smiley
Posts: 1,497
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Z10

Re: Is Android apps bypassing OS security?


gsandhu wrote:

Please note Android applications are not recording anything but audio from the microphone during on active Phone Call. If the user turns on the speakerphone then the conversation can be recorded but this is not using any native call recording functionality.  This approach is not possible in Cascades/NDK because our native runtime ensures that the audio gets preempted during an active phone call.


Well that just s*cks then.  Why should android apps enjoy this while our native app gets shut out?

They should behave the same.

 

BTW, I was able to record phone calls using the Dev Unit B.