Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
lalthomas
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎05-16-2013
My Device: Developer
My Carrier: Developer

Is there any way to implement a carousel in BB10 ?

Is there any way to implement a simple  carousel in BB10 ?

 

I have already seen https://github.com/blackberry/Cascades-Community-Samples/tree/master/stumpers/bbjamcarousel ,but I need the images to be loaded dynamically (preferably through a url ) and a linear type carousel is what I need.Can anybody please help on this issue ?

 

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
Contributor
kpuneet
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎04-11-2013
My Device: z10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Is there any way to implement a carousel in BB10 ?

you can try the below sample application

 

https://github.com/Macadamian/BB10/tree/master/CarouselDemo

Please use plain text.
Developer
lalthomas
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎05-16-2013
My Device: Developer
My Carrier: Developer

Re: Is there any way to implement a carousel in BB10 ?

[ Edited ]

Thank You kpuneet,but I need a carousel with cyclic movement support ( I mean when I slide the last image left it should show the first image and when I slide the first image right it should show the last image)

Please use plain text.
Developer
BBSJdev
Posts: 5,948
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: Orange

Re: Is there any way to implement a carousel in BB10 ?

[ Edited ]

You should be able to adapt one of these examples, what exactly are you struggling with the animation or the logic?

 

If you are expecting someone to hand you a complete QML and C++ solution you may be waiting a while. :smileyhappy:

 

Being a new OS there are not many examples, when I wrote my Carousel there were none!

 


If you've been helped click on Like Button, if you've been saved buy the app. :smileyhappy:

Developer of stokLocker, Sympatico and Super Sentences.
Please use plain text.
Developer
jbadwal
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎04-22-2012
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Mobilicity

Re: Is there any way to implement a carousel in BB10 ?

Use one of the examples and also do a search for WebImageView .. incorporate the WebImageView to load images from urls.
Please use plain text.
Developer
lalthomas
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎05-16-2013
My Device: Developer
My Carrier: Developer

Re: Is there any way to implement a carousel in BB10 ?

can you please share your Carousel code with me ?
Please use plain text.
Developer
BBSJdev
Posts: 5,948
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: Orange

Re: Is there any way to implement a carousel in BB10 ?

If you are asking me, then sorry no, it took significant time and effort to develop and has now been through several generations of improvement.  I quite often post code I think is fairly generic from my apps but if I posted everything my apps wouldn't differentiate themselves.

 

I hope you understand.


If you've been helped click on Like Button, if you've been saved buy the app. :smileyhappy:

Developer of stokLocker, Sympatico and Super Sentences.
Please use plain text.