Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
New Contributor
DavidBethala
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
My Device: Z10, PlayBook
My Carrier: AT&T Mobility

Re: Issues of BB10 beta simulator

Thank you!  I will try this and see if it works.

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
daryl_martin
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
My Device: N/A
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Issues of BB10 beta simulator

Thanks again for the posts and dxdiag information.  I wanted to give you a quick update on the status of the issue you're seeing..

 

It seems that VMWare does not play well with Intel integrated video cards that do not have any dedicated GPU memory, i.e. it's all shared system memory.  We were able to reproduce it locally, after digging through multiple computers to find a correct video card, and are looking into fixing it ASAP.  This is a very weird issue since our code/approach should work indepedent of the Host video card.

 

Daryl

Please use plain text.
Contributor
jlbenc
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎05-02-2010
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Claro Dominican Republic

Re: Issues of BB10 beta simulator

As Daryl mentions, the new sim can do the screen scaling thing, look to my answer here for a step-by-step.

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Native-Development/Is-it-possible-to-change-the-resolution-or...

Hope this helps..
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
daryl_martin
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
My Device: N/A
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Issues of BB10 beta simulator

The latest simulator, 10.0.6, should have a lot of the issues you were seeing resolved.  You can change the size of the simulator via the controller or by using ves-zoom from the command line in the simulator.  We have also resolved the graphics issues that's isolated to integrated Intel Graphics cards, so feel free to give it a try.  

 

Documentation and release notes can be found at the link below.  

https://developer.blackberry.com/resources/#custom_systreq

 

Please use plain text.
New Developer
whales
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-09-2012
My Device: Bold 9900, and PlayBook 16GB
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Issues of BB10 beta simulator

I found out why I couldn't use the simulator, this has been a good thread for me. I have to drop some cash on a new computer. 

 

A small price to pay to start developing I guess.  

 

Thanks for the information. 

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
becker666
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
My Device: Storm
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Issues of BB10 beta simulator

[ Edited ]

I've been having some simulator woes, got thru the intial stuff on installing and setting up the pieces I'm on a Mac(Lion 10.7.4) which is decent enough as I do Android/iPhone Apps here with no issues.

 

So I got to the BB10,  Webworks seems like a cool way to handle my stuff,  got to the basic helloWorld sample got over the initial stuff and it compiles fine it loads to the simulator after showing some default BB logo it goes blank (actually a black screen) is this because I'm running it in "Safe" mode????? Everything else seems fine tried changing colors but no matter what it always ends up in a blank screen, that is why I thought perhaps is the "safe" mode???

 

I also get a warning about config.xml not in root or malformed again no matter what it always stays there, tried putting the whole folder in the Mac Webroot /L/W/Docs but same issue

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
daryl_martin
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
My Device: N/A
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Issues of BB10 beta simulator

What version of the simulator are you running?  Is there any reason why you are not using the regular mode? 

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
becker666
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
My Device: Storm
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Issues of BB10 beta simulator

WebWorks/Simulator both their latest posted on the BB site

I only got 2GB of RAM(long story you ) so in regular mode the simulator does not launch it flickers and that is it
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
daryl_martin
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
My Device: N/A
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Issues of BB10 beta simulator

If you're running windows, would you be able to PM or post your dxdiag output?  We have recently fixed an issue that was causing flickering/corruption for select Intel graphics cards which will be included in the next release.

 

Have you changed any other settings in the simulator?  Such as the monitor settings in the VM or number of processors? 

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
becker666
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
My Device: Storm
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Issues of BB10 beta simulator

Cannot run VMware5 on win7 I think it requires 64-bit, simulator does not load on lower versions  that is why I went to the Mac

 

 Initially my 2GB-RAM Mac would not load the simulator it'd just flicker when hitting the Play button, a little message would be nice if you tell the users what is missing so we don't have to go throwing darts in the dark to figure out. Trial/error, reading around I found out about the Safe mode, I also had to turn off the 3D graphics acceleration. Simulator works by itself not the fastest but good enough to debug. Not sure if I have something wrong this is my compiling console if that is what u r asking

 

 

$ cd '/Users/rotten/Library/Application Support/Google/Chrome/Default/Extensions/cnijnnaimeaacneklcndcafbnkeicckh/0.9.14_0/services/bin';../node/node ../node/node_modules/rbd/app.js -start 9910
Starting in production mode.
Picard boldly goes on port 9910...
2013-03-19 17:45:10 POST /ripple/launch/bb10 200
Checking output path /becker/devy/bb10_sdk/bb_hello/outy/
Path already exists
Running zip in /becker/devy/bb10_sdk/bb_hello
exec - "zip" -x "/outy/"* @ -r "/becker/devy/bb10_sdk/bb_hello/outy/helloworld.zip" *
out: adding: config.xml (deflated 42%)
adding: index.html
out: (deflated 44%)
adding: js/ (stored 0%)
adding: js/.DS_Store
out: (deflated 97%)

2013-03-19 17:45:10 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:11 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
out: [BUILD] Populating application source

2013-03-19 17:45:11 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
out: [BUILD] Parsing config.xml

out: [WARN] Build ID set in config.xml [version], but signing key file was not found: author.p12
[WARN] Build ID set in config.xml [version], but no signing password was provided [-g]. Bar will be unsigned
[BUILD] Generating output files

2013-03-19 17:45:12 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:12 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:13 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:13 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:14 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:14 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:15 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:16 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:16 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:17 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:17 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:18 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:18 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:19 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:19 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:20 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:20 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
out: [INFO] Info: Package created: /becker/devy/bb10_sdk/bb_hello/outy/simulator/helloworld.bar

2013-03-19 17:45:21 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:22 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:22 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:23 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:23 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:24 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:24 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:25 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:25 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:26 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:26 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:27 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:28 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
out: [INFO] Info: Package created: /becker/devy/bb10_sdk/bb_hello/outy/device/helloworld.bar

2013-03-19 17:45:29 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
2013-03-19 17:45:29 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
out: [BUILD] BAR packaging complete

Done build
Build complete, now deploying...
>>> EXEC "/becker/devy/bb10_sdk/dependencies/tools/bin/blackberry-deploy" -installApp -launchApp -device 172.16.121.129 "/becker/devy/bb10_sdk/bb_hello/outy/simulator/helloworld.bar"
2013-03-19 17:45:29 GET /ripple/build_status/4609 200
Info: Sending request: Install and Launch


Info: Action: Install and Launch
Info: File size: 68527
Info: Installing helloworld.testRel_helloworld_a520b600...
Info: Processing 68527 bytes

Info: Progress 100%...

Info: Progress 100%...
actual_dname::helloworld.testRel_helloworld_a520b600
actual_id::testRel_helloworld_a520b600
actual_version::1.0.0.0
result::success
Info: Launching helloworld.testRel_helloworld_a520b600...

result::143560715

Info: done

 

 

Please use plain text.