Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-08-2012
My Device: BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: Rogers

Multi-touch support

Hello!

 

I'm currently working on a Cascades app and had a very basic question about current multi-touch support. 

 

If I touch and hold an element (I'm only handling touch-down and release events), touch events for any other elements are not handled.

 

Is there a way to get around this while purely using cascades? If not, are there any other options that I may have? Or anything coming down the pipe?

 

Thank you for your help! :smileyhappy:

 

Jeronimo

Retired
Posts: 329
Registered: ‎05-07-2012
My Device: BB Alpha
My Carrier: N/A

Re: Multi-touch support

Hi there, welcome to our forums!

 

Unfortunately, multi-touch is nut currently supported. It will be available on our API site as well as the roadmap when that becomes the case.

 

Roadmap: https://developer.blackberry.com/cascades/download/roadmap/

API: https://developer.blackberry.com/cascades/reference/

 

Good luck and let us know if you have any other questions.

 

Cheers,

 

Martin

Super Contributor
Posts: 440
Registered: ‎01-13-2011
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: NA

Re: Multi-touch support

Is multitouch supported yet?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
BlackBerry Apps: Instruments | ARTPAD | Piano | Drums | Xylophone
Super Contributor
Posts: 440
Registered: ‎01-13-2011
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: NA

Re: Multi-touch support

*BUMP*
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
BlackBerry Apps: Instruments | ARTPAD | Piano | Drums | Xylophone
Developer
Posts: 824
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
My Device: Red Z10
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Multi-touch support

[ Edited ]

Kind of curious about this as well, when I attended the BB Jam Enterprise Edition in Torronto they advertised multitouch being a major feature of the platform and said we could create our apps with support for up to 4 seperate touch points.  doesnt seem to be major if we still can't interact with it :smileysad:

 

Edit -- looks as though mutli touch is possible from C++ here's an example

 

source

 

Offical release in app world 

 

(It managed to get & track 10 simultaneous touch points)

Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎06-17-2013
My Device: Z10, STL100-2
My Carrier: Telenor

Re: Multi-touch support

This page in the official documentation seem to imply it's possible to use multi-touch in Cascade apps.

Made me happy at least, since my current design relies quite heavily on them. :smileyvery-happy: 

 

(Haven't confirmed the support yet myself thou)