Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Contributor
bobcripps
My Device: Simulator

PJSIP Build

I'm currently putting together a VoIP proof of concept and to that end I'll need a SIP stack. PJSIP together with its associated PJMEDIA, is the the most commonly used and adaptable implementation (iphone clients use it too). I posted a question on the PJSIP mailing list with as yet no response asking if anyone had attempted to build for the blackberry tablet. I'm not a toolchain expert so if someone could take a look at PJSIP to fathom out if it's doable that would be appreciated.

This is the link to my PJSIP posting

http://lists.pjsip.org/pipermail/pjsip_lists.pjsip.org/2012-January/013961.html

Since writing this I've looked at the IDE output and see that qcc is used as opposed to raw gcc.

All help greatly appreciated

Bob

Please use plain text.
Developer
rcmaniac25
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.3253, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.634 Dev OS, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.634 Dev OS, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.0.1418, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917

Re: PJSIP Build

I have not done anything with PJSIP, but I took a quick look at some of the source code and what I can say is this:

• You want to use the Unix version of the compile (as QNX is not linux, so all linux specific stuff won't work) as that "should" compile just fine (base don the files I looked at).
  • Be sure that PJLIB compiles first before you try anything else as PJSIP, the codecs, etc. all rely on PJLIB.
  • There already is a *.mk for ARM. BUT it seems to simply define a name for ARMv4. The PlayBook (and newer) run Cortex which is ARMv7. So you want to see where ARMv4 is used and see if there is anything (such as NEON [SIMD for ARMv7]) that can be used over ARMv4.