Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-15-2012
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Omnitel
Accepted Solution

Potential bug in MediaPlayer

Hi,

 

It looks like I have found bug in MediaPlayer (http://developer.blackberry.com/cascades/reference/bb__multimedia__mediaplayer.html).

 

There is following URL:

http://www.eardrumsmusic.com/MAP/The%20Electones%20-%20Right%20Foot%20From%20Left.mp3

 

Now if you will open it from browser you will notice that it has redirect loop. MediaPlayer does not catch this and freezes app completely. The only way to get out of the state is to restart phone.

 

Any ideas how I could workaround this problem while it is not fixed in MediaPlayer?

 

What's proper way to report bug to BlackBerry?

 

Cheers,

Dalius

Retired
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎02-27-2012
My Device: Bold
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Potential bug in MediaPlayer


Hello @daliusd,

Thank you for reporting this. Our multimedia platform team took a look at this issue and it seems that the URL below has an infinite redirect loop; exceeds 100 redirections. We are looking into it this now for how to address this concern the best way.

For reporting issues, you can use the public Developer Issue Tracker: https://www.blackberry.com/jira/secure/Dashboard.jspa

 

Cheers,
Rashid


Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-15-2012
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Omnitel

Re: Potential bug in MediaPlayer

Thanks for looking into it. IMHO there is no reason to believe that redirect loop will go away if it exist so if url redirect to itself error must be thrown.

 

I can't login to jira for some reason (I'm using Chrome browser). It redirects me between www.blackberry.com and developer.blackberry.com constantly.

 

Thanks,

Dalius

Retired
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎02-27-2012
My Device: Bold
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Potential bug in MediaPlayer

For entering JIRA, you can also try this:
* Go to http://developer.blackberry.com
* Go to "Developer Issue Tracker" (at the very bottom of the page, after you scroll down, under "Support")

Cheers,
Rashid
Retired
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎02-27-2012
My Device: Bold
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Potential bug in MediaPlayer

You'd probably need to login using your BlackBerry ID as well (somewhere along the way).
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-15-2012
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Omnitel

Re: Potential bug in MediaPlayer

I don't know why but can't login neither from Chrome nor IE. Well I will report other problems here in forum in that case.

Retired
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎02-27-2012
My Device: Bold
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Potential bug in MediaPlayer

You can try clearing your cache for your browser (for example, if it is getting confused for your saved credentials for BlackBerry ID). Or signing out of BlackBerry ID (if you already are).

I just tried it using IE (9.0.8...) and Firefox (21.0) and seems to be fine. I tested with this so that it would ask me for the BlackBerry ID credentials. I know it works for my Google Chrome browser as well because I am already using it.

That is:
* Go to http://developer.blackberry.com
* Go to "Developer Issue Tracker" (at the very bottom of the page, after you scroll down, under "Support")

Then, it opens a new tab and asks you to login using my BlackBerry ID.
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-15-2012
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Omnitel

Re: Potential bug in MediaPlayer

I have tried that from incognito mode (that means clean cache) from Chrome and I don't use IE at all as well so IE cache is empty as well.

In firefox I get login dialog but it is stuck in some load cycle as well.