If you are using Internet Explorer, please remove blackberry.com from your compatibility view settings.

Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Contributor
ffgiraldez
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-18-2011
My Device: Torch 9860
My Carrier: Movistar

Presentation Mode API on BB10 with Cascades

Hi every one

 

I want to know if a Presentation mode like on playbook with HDMI output will be available on BB10 for 3º party developers?

 

Regards, Fernando

Please use plain text.
Developer
peter9477
Posts: 6,473
Registered: ‎12-08-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10
My Carrier: none

Re: Presentation Mode API on BB10 with Cascades

It's there already and could be used on the Dev Alpha using the appropriate libscreen APIs. If you mean (since you're asking in this forum) whether it will be accessible from Cascades, then I don't know if we'll get anything... wait for the next API drop and we may find out.

Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
Please use plain text.
Contributor
ffgiraldez
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-18-2011
My Device: Torch 9860
My Carrier: Movistar

Re: Presentation Mode API on BB10 with Cascades

i can't see in docs how i can manage the presentation mode or a tutorial, where do you see it?

 

Thanks in advance

Please use plain text.
Developer
peter9477
Posts: 6,473
Registered: ‎12-08-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10
My Carrier: none

Re: Presentation Mode API on BB10 with Cascades

I'm not aware of any particular tutorials on this. Also at the lower levels it's not called "presentation mode" as that's merely a term describing one particular style of use of the APIs involved.

The "appropriate libscreen APIs" I was talking about are all in the NDK, and described in pages like this one, for example: https://developer.blackberry.com/native/reference/com.qnx.doc.screen.lib_ref/topic/cscreen_using_mul...

That provides nothing that lets you work with Cascades to drive the display. I believe if you did it with those APIs, Cascades would basically be unaware you were even doing that, as it currently (guessing here) works only with the primary display.

Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
Please use plain text.
Contributor
ffgiraldez
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-18-2011
My Device: Torch 9860
My Carrier: Movistar

Re: Presentation Mode API on BB10 with Cascades

thank you very much, i will try the code

Please use plain text.
Developer
FredTBB
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎09-17-2012
My Device: 9810-Playbooks-devalpha-Z10
My Carrier: Free mobile

Re: Presentation Mode API on BB10 with Cascades

Sorry to reopen this old thread, but have you found any solution, i just created this one :http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Cascades-Development/Cascade-and-dual-display/m-p/1945105/hig...

 

I can't get the sample working with cascade, even if it works alone.

 

Thanks,

 

Fred

Please use plain text.