Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

New Developer
ahsan_iqbal
My Carrier: BlackBerry

Problem compiling and adding static library

Hi

I am very new to blackberry ndk development. I have a project already developed in c/c++. which depends on one or more static librarries developed in c/c++ by me. now when i compile static libraries IDE (QNX momentics) report no errors and creates .a files but when i want to compile main project then it recompile static libraries and report errors in those static libraries. can any body guide me where might be the problem!

Regards

Ahsan 

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
weidongxu
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Problem compiling and adding static library

I think it would be easier for us to help if you could let us know what kind of error you got, better to list some (maybe the first).

If I get what you mean, you are able to build .a if do it along, but if you need to make an app which depends on these static libs, the IDE will at that time rebuild these libs, and this time it failed the compile and cannot build the .a, right?

If so, this is indeed strange.

One possible issue occurs to me is whether the Target type (Device-Debug / Device-Release / or even Simulator) is the same of the static lib you built and app you want to build.  I think if the type is same IDE will not rebuild the lib.  And if type is incorrect, it might happens that the code could pass the build for Simulator target but fail for Device-Release target.

This is only a guess.

Or if the app failed in link phase, there will be a lot of possibilities...

Please use plain text.
New Developer
ahsan_iqbal

It seems that those are linking errors as most of the errors are like