Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 581
Registered: ‎10-17-2010
My Device: (BlackBerry Z10)-> Q10/Passport Dual Use
Accepted Solution

Pushing TabbedPane from NavigationPane

I am trying to Push a TabbedPane from NavigationPane(main.qml). 

 

var nextPage = nav.deprecatedPushQmlByString("tabbedPane.qml");

 It's not working. I know either

 

1) I am doing something wrong

2) I do not understand what can and cannot be pushed from certain screens

Mainly working in qml.

I am able to push a "Page" into view from NavigationPane. This works no problem.

Any ideas? 

Contributor
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎05-30-2012
My Device: Simulator
My Carrier: Developer

Re: Pushing TabbedPane from NavigationPane

Do you get an error in the debug window? Have you tried testing nextPage for its value? 0 means failure for the method.

 

Maybe try doing the push in C++? That way I have been able to push a Tabbed Pane in a Navigation Pane (in the first beta, I haven't used the second yet).

Developer
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎04-28-2012
My Device: Playbook & Dev Alpha
My Carrier: AIS

Re: Pushing TabbedPane from NavigationPane

Only Page can be pushed into NavigationPane in SDK beta 2.
Contributor
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎05-30-2012
My Device: Simulator
My Carrier: Developer

Re: Pushing TabbedPane from NavigationPane

[ Edited ]

@iamjay

If so, is that an extremely bad design decision, or is it  just me?

Developer
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎04-28-2012
My Device: Playbook & Dev Alpha
My Carrier: AIS

Re: Pushing TabbedPane from NavigationPane

I used TabbedPane under NavigationPane too in SDK beta 1. Now I just use action buttons to replace the tabbed pane. Below is the explanation from the beta 2 upgrading guide.

 

https://developer.blackberry.com/cascades/documentation/dev/upgrading/index.html

 

Adding a TabbedPane to NavigationPane is no longer allowed

 

The reason for this change is that a tabbed pane should never be added to child pages in yourNavigationPane. A tabbed navigation should be used only at the top level of your app.

If you must use both deeper navigation and tabbed navigation, you can use NavigationPane inside aTabbedPane.

Developer
Posts: 849
Registered: ‎03-03-2011
My Device: Z10

Re: Pushing TabbedPane from NavigationPane

[ Edited ]

Putting tabbed pane in navigation pane is wrong.

Rather use sheets on each (sub)page of tabbed pane if you need 'flow' among 'pages'.

 

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/556039_400782743312816_888760234_n.jpg

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Leader of Ljubljana BlackBerry Developer Group
BlackBerry Certified Builder for Native Application Development