Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 1,645
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Z10 (red Limited Edition), Q10, Z30
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone
Accepted Solution

Q10 image not found

having problems on Q10 with 3 of my images

 

10.1 Beta SDK

10.0.9.2372

 

I have some png images used well on Z10,

but Q10 reports:

"Unable to get asset: (/images/myimage.png)."
Image not found:  "/images/myimage.png" 

 has anyone else noticed this ?

 

can deploy to Z10: OK

deploy to Q10 Simulator: only 3 of 38 images not working

 

using 10.0.9.2372 because I want to submit one bar file to bb world for z10 and q10

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development Mobile Apps BlackBerry 10 Cascades
Cascades - Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/ekkescorner http://vimeo.com/ekkescorner/videos
bb10-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
Developer
Posts: 6,152
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
My Device: Playbook, Dev Alpha C, Z10 LE, Z30
My Carrier: Orange

Re: Q10 image not found

[ Edited ]

Strange and slightly worrying.

Is there any obvious difference between the images being rejected and those accepted?

 

I ask because the error message could be being used for other problems with loading images as well.

 

This is one of the advantages of Android you could just go look at the source and see why. :smileyhappy:

 


If you've been helped click on Like Button, if you've been saved buy the app. :smileyhappy:

Developer of stokLocker, Sympatico and Super Sentences.
Developer
Posts: 1,645
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Z10 (red Limited Edition), Q10, Z30
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: Q10 image not found


BBSJdev wrote:

Strange and slightly worrying.

Is there any obvious difference between the images being rejected and those accepted?

 

....

 


didn't found a difference

 

I'm using 10.1 Beta 1 SDK + Simulator

 

will download Beta 2 and see if difference

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development Mobile Apps BlackBerry 10 Cascades
Cascades - Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/ekkescorner http://vimeo.com/ekkescorner/videos
bb10-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
Developer
Posts: 887
Registered: ‎08-31-2009
My Device: 9530, 9630, 9800, 8530, 9900, 9810, 9930, PlayBook, Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Q10 image not found

Any reason in paticular that you are not using 10.1.0.338 ?


Read my thoughts on BlackBerry Development at news.ebscer.com
Developer
Posts: 1,645
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Z10 (red Limited Edition), Q10, Z30
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: Q10 image not found


Ebscer wrote:

Any reason in paticular that you are not using 10.1.0.338 ?


I wanted to submit only one BAR to BlackBerry World for Z10 and Q10.

 

Later 10.1 will follow, but for now I don't use any of the new features

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development Mobile Apps BlackBerry 10 Cascades
Cascades - Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/ekkescorner http://vimeo.com/ekkescorner/videos
bb10-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
Developer
Posts: 887
Registered: ‎08-31-2009
My Device: 9530, 9630, 9800, 8530, 9900, 9810, 9930, PlayBook, Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Q10 image not found

Try using 10.1

 

I have been using it on all devices with no ill effects...


Read my thoughts on BlackBerry Development at news.ebscer.com
Developer
Posts: 1,645
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Z10 (red Limited Edition), Q10, Z30
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: Q10 image not found


Ebscer wrote:

Try using 10.1

 

I have been using it on all devices with no ill effects...


if submitting to BlackBerry World there are different targets now for 10.0 and 10.1

 

perhaps if you're not using 10.1 features it will work,

but - as far as I understood it - to be sure that all runs on 10.0 devices I have to use 10.0.x SDK

 

of course IDE can be 10.1

 

maybe I'm wrong with this but this is I understood it.

So inmmy projects I will use different Branches for 10.0 and 10.1

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development Mobile Apps BlackBerry 10 Cascades
Cascades - Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/ekkescorner http://vimeo.com/ekkescorner/videos
bb10-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 668
Registered: ‎11-29-2011
My Device: developer
My Carrier: other

Re: Q10 image not found

have you tried plopping them in the shared dir and loading them from there?

unzipped the bar file and taken a look inside it?

tried converting them to jpegs for debugging purposes?

are they readable in the Pictures app if installed in shared?

 

Just some thoughts...

Developer
Posts: 1,645
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Z10 (red Limited Edition), Q10, Z30
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: Q10 image not found


smcveigh wrote:

have you tried plopping them in the shared dir and loading them from there?

unzipped the bar file and taken a look inside it?

tried converting them to jpegs for debugging purposes?

are they readable in the Pictures app if installed in shared?

 

Just some thoughts...


thx Sean,

I'm just back from MobileTechCon in Munich where I had a talk about BlackBerry10

 

at MTC I already did some tests with Aaron Ardiri and we noticed that the same problem not only exists on Q10 Simulator, but also on newest  (BlackBerry-internal)10.1 builds on Z10 .

Aaron also converted the png's but these images also don't work.

 

I will try more later

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development Mobile Apps BlackBerry 10 Cascades
Cascades - Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/ekkescorner http://vimeo.com/ekkescorner/videos
bb10-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
Developer
Posts: 1,645
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Z10 (red Limited Edition), Q10, Z30
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: Q10 image not found

did some more tests:

 

moved the images from assets/images to the root of assets: doesnt help

 

used an ImageTracker for this image: doesn't help

 

duplicated another image which is working and now it becomes curious: this duplicated image also doesn't work

 

so - it doesn't depend on the images itself

there must be another problem with images running on 10.1 devices or simulator.

as reported on 10.0 devices like LE or standard Z10 it works

 

will try more ...

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development Mobile Apps BlackBerry 10 Cascades
Cascades - Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/ekkescorner http://vimeo.com/ekkescorner/videos
bb10-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner