Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
BGmot
Posts: 1,068
Registered: ‎11-24-2011
My Device: PlayBook
My Carrier: x

Qt on Q10 - how to show VirtualKeyboard?

I mean keyboard you see when you press sym key in Cascades.

Thanks.

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
psapra
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎07-22-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: N/A

Re: Qt on Q10 - how to show VirtualKeyboard?

I don't think this is possible but I will double check with our dev team.  Can you describe your use case for this?

Thanks,
Pratik Sapra
Gaming & Apps Consultant
Developer Relations
@pratiksapra
Please use plain text.
Developer
BGmot
Posts: 1,068
Registered: ‎11-24-2011
My Device: PlayBook
My Carrier: x

Re: Qt on Q10 - how to show VirtualKeyboard?

use case, type '\' for example. In Cascades I can press sym and keyboard pops up on the screen. How can I achieve the same in Qt?

Thanks.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
geoffharmer
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-10-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Qt on Q10 - how to show VirtualKeyboard?

[ Edited ]

When in email, press alt then  sym  and it displays a virtual keyboard showing which of the keys to then press to get special characters such as £, euro, yen, &, \, {, } [, } and so on.

 

You don't press these on the screen they are simply showing you which key on the QWERTY keyboard to press immediately.

 

Geoff

Please use plain text.
Developer
BGmot
Posts: 1,068
Registered: ‎11-24-2011
My Device: PlayBook
My Carrier: x

Re: Qt on Q10 - how to show VirtualKeyboard?

>When in email

What e-mail?

Pratik, any findings?

Please use plain text.
Developer
BGmot
Posts: 1,068
Registered: ‎11-24-2011
My Device: PlayBook
My Carrier: x

Re: Qt on Q10 - how to show VirtualKeyboard?

More 'good' news on that.

It looks like SYM virtual keyboard is presented only by Cascades.

Yesterday I tried pure native app and you also do not have anything popping up on the screen when you press SYM, the only thing you receive is 0xf0d3 as a key code pressed.

SO: you app (if it's not Cascades) has to render(process input from) virtual keyboard. That's kind of sucks weird.

Please use plain text.
Contributor
graysont
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎11-22-2011
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: na

Re: Qt on Q10 - how to show VirtualKeyboard?

This doesn't seem to work even on some Cascades controls like a foreign Windows. Is there any way to forcefully show that symbol virtual keyboard? Right now Q10 users have no way of entering in alternative symbols like '\' outside of a Cascades text field.

 

 

Please use plain text.