Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
BikeAtor
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎03-31-2012
My Device: Playbook

Qt or NDK: How to get GPS Informations while in standby?

Is it possible to get GPS-Informations while Playbook is in Standby-Mode?

 

After readign this Thread (http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Native-SDK-for-BlackBerry-Tablet/Running-app-while-in-standby... there isn't a solution yet.

 

It's really necessary to keep GPS up and running while in Standyby-Mode and send Positions to the App. GPS takes to long to resync after powerup (maybe several minutes). And also it is impossible to log a GPX-Track or calculate the distance of the trip.

 

Developer
peter9477
Posts: 6,473
Registered: ‎12-08-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10

Re: Qt or NDK: How to get GPS Informations while in standby?

Relevant to your question: http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Native-Development/Background-Application-in-playbook/m-p/168...

 

Short answer: it's possible, but not directly accessible yet in the NDK APIs.  AIR can do it, so it's technically feasible but possibly impractical until they expose it in the NDK.


Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
Developer
BikeAtor
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎03-31-2012
My Device: Playbook

Re: Qt or NDK: How to get GPS Informations while in standby?

Maybe it is also fixed with the update for the NDK? I will do a test later. What are the plans from RIM? Do you want to support it? What will I have to change in my App?
Developer
peter9477
Posts: 6,473
Registered: ‎12-08-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10

Re: Qt or NDK: How to get GPS Informations while in standby?

What update is that? I hadn't heard of a recent one. As far as I know, there's never been support yet for background GPS in the NDK, so it's unlikely it's fixed (i.e. added) unless something just came out in the last week or so.

RIM hasn't announced any plans for this yet, but it seems a safe bet that a future version of the NDK will have some API changes to support this. Maybe what we see them release at BB10 Jam next week?

Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
Developer
BikeAtor
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎03-31-2012
My Device: Playbook

Re: Qt or NDK: How to get GPS Informations while in standby?

I did a test and GPS stops during standby :-(

 

@RIM When will this be fixed? Or will this never be fixed?

Developer
peter9477
Posts: 6,473
Registered: ‎12-08-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10

Re: Qt or NDK: How to get GPS Informations while in standby?

FYI, the standby GPS support should be available in the next beta NDK, "early summer": https://twitter.com/bzubert/status/207916314193444865

Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
Developer
BikeAtor
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎03-31-2012
My Device: Playbook

Re: Qt or NDK: How to get GPS Informations while in standby?

THX for the info. So I have to wait some time and hope it's not for BB10 only :-(

Developer
peter9477
Posts: 6,473
Registered: ‎12-08-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10

Re: Qt or NDK: How to get GPS Informations while in standby?

Unfortunately, in response to a follow-up question from me about that, Brian says it's a BB10 NDK update only.

Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
Developer
BikeAtor
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎03-31-2012
My Device: Playbook

Re: Qt or NDK: How to get GPS Informations while in standby?

Shame on RIM :-(

So it doesn't really make sense to support the Playbook until BB10 will be available. So maybe never.

 

Good to have other systems available for Qt. I will concentrate on Android now and support the development there. Maybe I'll by a Galaxy S3 and have a look at it.