Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

New Developer
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: VZW

Quite frustrated, please help me know if my app is even possible in 10.2

My goal is not to just complain, but to see if there is any way to salvage 3-4 weeks of (seeming) wasted effort.

I am a very experienced developer and, among other things, have years of c++ and QT experience outside of BB10. I am new to BB10. I read a bunch of docs and concluded that the app I wanted to build was maybe possible in 10.1, and definitely possible in 10.2.

Now that 10.2 gold is out, without any docs or idea what "Hub Integration" actually means, it seems my app simply can't be built on Blackberry 10. I am willing to change quite a bit about the app to find a way to make it work. All I was trying to build was as close to native integration with Google Voice as possible.

What I really wanted: to replace the native dialer with a VOIP one (libjingle-based) via google talk/xmpp/jingle, and to have a "Google Voice" account type in the Hub for both text messages and calls. Once I realized the bb10 OS would never allow intercepting outgoing calls, I came up with compromises. The bb10 invocation framework is more powerful than Android's intents on paper only; in practice, all of the useful things I have tried to do have failed. I basically wanted to make a GrooveIP for bb10, which is impossible.