Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Regular Contributor
Transcendental_Mobile
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎04-07-2011
My Device: PlayBook

Re: SDK woes - share your pain - BAD SDK RELEASE


II_ARROWS wrote:

Hoping that is not an hardware defect...


Yes indeed!

Developer
pradeep_ch
Posts: 543
Registered: ‎12-23-2010
My Device: Z10

Re: SDK woes - share your pain - BAD SDK RELEASE

My device also crashing many times after updating to latest os.

Developer
georg22
Posts: 247
Registered: ‎11-22-2011
My Device: Blackberry Playbook

Re: SDK woes - share your pain - BAD SDK RELEASE

After a few houres of work the IDE did not slow down anymore. I dont know what happend, but yesterday the IDE was horrible slow. I have seen that the IDE sometimes refreshes the workspace in a kind of loop for a while which caused a permanent rerendering of my qml files. At "Preferences/General/Workspace" i unchecked the "Refresh on access" - maybe this helped.

The changes in QML - it was a few houres of work to bring my app to life again - are good. The code is better to read than before.

Developer
BBSJdev
Posts: 6,116
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
My Device: Playbook, Dev Alpha C, Z10 LE, Z30

Re: SDK woes - share your pain - BAD SDK RELEASE

I've experienced the workspace getting stuck in refresh as well, shut it down and restarted.

Definately not as stable for me as the last release.

 

I also agree with a previous poster i think more frequent - (therefore in theory) less drastic releases would be easier to incorporate than the single (everything's changed, good luck sorting out your code) release we've just had.


If you've been helped click on Like Button, if you've been saved buy the app. :smileyhappy:

Developer of stokLocker, Sympatico and Super Sentences.
Developer
BBSJdev
Posts: 6,116
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
My Device: Playbook, Dev Alpha C, Z10 LE, Z30

Re: SDK woes - share your pain - BAD SDK RELEASE

Totally agree with more frequent updates.

If you've been helped click on Like Button, if you've been saved buy the app. :smileyhappy:

Developer of stokLocker, Sympatico and Super Sentences.
Developer
BBSJdev
Posts: 6,116
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
My Device: Playbook, Dev Alpha C, Z10 LE, Z30

Re: SDK woes - share your pain - BAD SDK RELEASE

Sorry, meant to add this on to previous posters comment.

If you've been helped click on Like Button, if you've been saved buy the app. :smileyhappy:

Developer of stokLocker, Sympatico and Super Sentences.
Contributor
II_ARROWS
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎03-02-2012
My Device: Torch 9810

Re: SDK woes - share your pain - BAD SDK RELEASE


II_ARROWS wrote:

I created a new cascade project and opening the qml file I get this error: 

 

The QML preview is not available.
glGetProcAddress_win32 failed: glGenFramebuffersEXT

This happens on my notebook, on my desktop the view opens but remains blank. And today it doesn't show any file in workspace...

 

The software is unusable, a new version is really necessary...

Developer
Developer
lew
Posts: 174
Registered: ‎03-05-2009
My Device: Dev Alpha

Re: SDK woes - share your pain - BAD SDK RELEASE


 - duplicate actions showing up on Action bar


have this issue too...did anyone figure out how to fix this?

 

Developer
greenback
Posts: 533
Registered: ‎10-17-2010
My Device: (BlackBerry Z10)-> Q10/Passport Dual Use

Re: SDK woes - share your pain - BAD SDK RELEASE

This is the best SDK release to date. So many APIs. More samples. I believe that if you read the release notes and Beta 2->Beta 3 upgrade guide, most of your issues will be solved.

 

 

Contributor
II_ARROWS
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎03-02-2012
My Device: Torch 9810

Re: SDK woes - share your pain - BAD SDK RELEASE

I don't think so. I'm talking about IDE issues; on new, blank projects.

How could that be an issue related to changes in APIs?

 

I cannot do anything, because the view is either unavailble or blank, depending on what PC I tried.