Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Regular Contributor
ryan_robinson
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎03-07-2011
My Device: Z10 + PlayBook
My Carrier: Telus

Security Menu

Hi everyone,

 

New developer here, trying to get my dev environment setup including my Dev Alpha. Very annoying problem I'm currently encountering, though: the Security button in the Settings menu on the device does not do anything. I can't turn on Development Mode without it. I don't see any other posts saying the same problems. Has anybody else had it or know how to fix it? I really do not want to work through a simulator.

 

Thanks in advance

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
AllSystemGo
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎11-23-2010
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Security Menu

Did you wipe your alpha device after the upgrade? 

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
ryan_robinson
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎03-07-2011
My Device: Z10 + PlayBook
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Security Menu

I've wiped it a few times because of other issues, but so far I haven't been able to with this issue. Can someone link to the instructions for how to do that again? I've tried the standard Desktop Manager way and I've tried the WipeReload app which is what I thought I used the last few times.

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
AllSystemGo
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎11-23-2010
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Security Menu

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
ryan_robinson
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎03-07-2011
My Device: Z10 + PlayBook
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Security Menu

Ok, that's what I've been trying (through the WipeReload tool as well as through Desktop Manager). It connects then says there is no update available, which makes sense since I do have the latest version.

Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,450
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Security Menu

Does holding down power, volume up and volume down for 30 seconds help (keep holding after the screen turns off)?

 

If not, reach out to btsbetasupport@rim.com for further help.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
ryan_robinson
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎03-07-2011
My Device: Z10 + PlayBook
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Security Menu

No change. I'll send that email.

Please use plain text.