Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
New Contributor
_mdg
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-22-2014
My Device: Blackberry Q10
My Carrier: Vodafone

Set screen's color temperature

Hi all

I'd like to develop an app that makes the color of the device's display adapt to the time of day (similar to f.lux [0]).

One essential thing for me is, of course, to know if and how can I set the screen's color temperature on the device (I'm using the Native SDK), since I can't find that on the official documentation.

I really miss f.lux on my Q10, so I'd love to develop (and share) an alternative myself.

Thank you for your help

 

[0] http://justgetflux.com/

Please use plain text.
Developer
slashkyle
Posts: 800
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
My Device: Red Z10, Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Set screen's color temperature

[ Edited ]

currently there is no api avaliable that allows us to adjust the screen brightness or temperature

 

There is a native C screen api property that relates to brightness but from everything i've read it doesnt appear to work and makes no visual difference

 

https://developer.blackberry.com/native/reference/core/com.qnx.doc.screen.lib_ref/topic/screen_8h_1s...

 

*It also appears that this property is attached to the window, so even if you do get it working it will only affect the current visible window not the entire screen.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
_mdg
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-22-2014
My Device: Blackberry Q10
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Set screen's color temperature

Thank you.

Well, I hope they'll set an API to allow to control that as soon as possible..


In the meantime I'll develop something different

Regards

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
PBernhardt
Posts: 746
Registered: ‎12-16-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Set screen's color temperature

If you'd like such an API to exist, please make sure you log a feature request: DIT

Paul Bernhardt
Application Development Consultant
BlackBerry
@PBernhardt

Did this answer your question? Please accept this post as the solution.
Found a bug? Report it to the Developer Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Developer
greenmr
Posts: 871
Registered: ‎03-20-2013
My Device: Red LE Developer Z10
My Carrier: Fido

Re: Set screen's color temperature

I'd be interested to know how BB 10.2.1 does this on the settings screen. Something undocumented, obviously.



Developer of Built for BlackBerry certified multiFEED RSS/Atom feed reader and aggregator.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
_mdg
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-22-2014
My Device: Blackberry Q10
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Set screen's color temperature

Hi

Thank you, but that website seems to load forever. I can't access it since it doesn't stop loading. I tried with different browsers (Firefox, Chrome, IE, Safari) and even throught a Canadian VPN, since I'm italian and I thought that it could be the cause of the issue. Nothing to do.

If you have suggestion on how I could try to access that website, I'd be grateful.

Thank you again for your help.

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
PBernhardt
Posts: 746
Registered: ‎12-16-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Set screen's color temperature

Could be something wrong with your account. Can you private message your BBID email to me and I will take a look?
Paul Bernhardt
Application Development Consultant
BlackBerry
@PBernhardt

Did this answer your question? Please accept this post as the solution.
Found a bug? Report it to the Developer Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
_mdg
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-22-2014
My Device: Blackberry Q10
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Set screen's color temperature

Now I can access without issues. Thank you very much for the quick support!

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
PBernhardt
Posts: 746
Registered: ‎12-16-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Set screen's color temperature

Happy to help! If anyone else has the same issue, please PM me as well.
Paul Bernhardt
Application Development Consultant
BlackBerry
@PBernhardt

Did this answer your question? Please accept this post as the solution.
Found a bug? Report it to the Developer Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.