Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 224
Registered: ‎03-29-2012
My Device: 9900

Re: Simulator Freezes

I am regretfully fairly certain they are sub par, however, I am purchasing a new laptop which shall arrive in the next couple of days, Iremain hopeful that the issue will resolve itself when I try on the new system. 

BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
Posts: 329
Registered: ‎05-07-2012
My Device: BB Alpha

Re: Simulator Freezes

Sounds great.

 

Let me know if you get your simulator up and running on the new machine!

 

Cheers,

 

Martin

 

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
My Device: N/A

Re: Simulator Freezes

Some things you might want to try with your older computer:

 

* Ensure that virtualization is turned on, if your CPU supports it.  It will give your simulator a *huge* performance boost.

* Update your graphics drivers to the latest.  I just verified yesterday that I was able to boot the simulator using a Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family CPU...but there is an issue with the menus not appearing with this specific GPU.  This wont' impact cascades/native development though.

 

Hope this helps!

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-14-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha

Re: Simulator Freezes

Disabled 3D Acceleration & raised memory to 2GB...

 

now produces

[ Warning TODO: rtc ]

 

hangs at

[ Start Service: screen ]

 

VMWare Player 4.0.4 build-744019

Windows 7 Ultimate, 64-bit  (Build 7600) 6.1.7600

Intel Dual CPU T3200 (2.0ghz)

Mobile Intel 4 Chipset/Graphics

3.00gb ram

 

--

might have to try it on my desktop if it won't run.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-14-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha

Re: Simulator Freezes

read on a different threat that it can take a while to load.... solved.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
My Device: N/A

Re: Simulator Freezes

I would highly recommend enabling virutaliation on your CPU if you have it.  The boot time of the simulator should drop to about 20-30 seconds with this option enabled.  Please refer to the simulator documentation for more information.  

 

https://developer.blackberry.com/resources/#custom_perform