Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
New Contributor
itruf
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-04-2012
My Device: iPhone 4 ;(

Slow mouse in BB10 simulator on mac

Hi, guys.

I've installed BB10 simulator from official site via VMWare fusion 4 and BB Playbook simulator.S

Speed of cursor in vmware is much slower.

 

My system:

Mac OS X Lion 10.7.3 (latest version)

iMac 21.5" (late 2009)

6 Gb RAM

Intel Core 2 Duo 3.06Ghz CPU

 

Mouse: Magic Mouse

 

All settings of simulator and SDK are default.

 

Have you any ideas?

PS: BB 10 is beautiful system and I want to make amazing apps, but speed of cursor is very annoying.

 

From Russia with love.

Vanya.

 

Developer
borceg
Posts: 671
Registered: ‎03-21-2012
My Device: BlackBerry PlayBook 16GB

Re: Slow mouse in BB10 simulator on mac

Speed is same on vmware workstation under win 7. It's simulator issue
New Contributor
itruf
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-04-2012
My Device: iPhone 4 ;(

Re: Slow mouse in BB10 simulator on mac

[ Edited ]

It means, that we haven't any solution? ;(

Retired
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: Slow mouse in BB10 simulator on mac

Hi Vanya,

 

I'm running the BB10 sim here on Windows 7 (4GB RAM) with VMWare Player 4.0.1 and there is no slowdown noticable with my cursor in or out of the VM. 

 

Do you have any other heavy applications running at the same time as VMWare Fusion?

Can you check your system resources to see how much RAM and CPU is being used?

 

You could also try supplying 2 processor cores to the VM to see if it increases performance:

https://bdsc.webapps.blackberry.com/devzone/resources/

 

Regards,

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
New Contributor
itruf
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-04-2012
My Device: iPhone 4 ;(

Re: Slow mouse in BB10 simulator on mac

The cursor has a little bit faster but still slow (new options - 2 cores and 4 GB of RAM). I just can not believe that the mobile OS can use as many resources. It's more than SGS 3 and iPad 3 are using
Retired
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: Slow mouse in BB10 simulator on mac

Do you have any other heavy applications running at the same time as VMWare Fusion?

Can you check your system resources to see how much RAM and CPU is being used?

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
New Contributor
itruf
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-04-2012
My Device: iPhone 4 ;(

Re: Slow mouse in BB10 simulator on mac

screenshot

Retired
tneil
Posts: 3,708
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Slow mouse in BB10 simulator on mac

I think the "slow" mouse is relative.  I had a demo of the slow mouse on the simulator for a Mac at BB10 Jam and it was as fast as the mouse on my Windows machine :smileyhappy:

 

So the slow mouse was just as fast as my expectations with my mouse settings on Windows.

 

If you have fast mouse settings on Mac, it appears that VMFusion doesn't seem to emulate the same mouse speeds that you have on your desktop.

Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter
Contributor
kozen
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-11-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9790

Re: Slow mouse in BB10 simulator on mac

I do actually experience the very same. It makes the simulator practically unusable. Thus, I am happy to have a BB 10 alpha device to test my apps :smileyhappy:

New Contributor
itruf
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-04-2012
My Device: iPhone 4 ;(

Re: Slow mouse in BB10 simulator on mac

:No: i wanna test device too, but BB think, that simulator is very good and we are so stupid, that can't detect SLOW MOUSE. Yes, Tim?