Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Retired
tneil
Posts: 3,708
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Slow mouse in BB10 simulator on mac

I don't think I said anyone or anything is/was stupid. I pointed out that mouse speed is a matter of perception and a matter of how a fast a user likes their mouse.

The mouse speed on the Mac simulator is as fast as how I use my mouse on my windows desktop which is good for my own personal use.

I also pointed out that it doesn't appear as though the simulator configuration on VMFusion is picking up your mouse speed settings and that this is an issue/bug.

I'm not sure how an explaination of the speed and bug seemed like an insult to you, but if it offended you then I appologize
Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter
New Contributor
itruf
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-04-2012
My Device: iPhone 4 ;(

Re: Slow mouse in BB10 simulator on mac

I understand exactly what you're not to blame in this situation, but still would like to say that he was disappointed in the company. You are trying to portray a serious player, but they can not do the normal software that could operate without any outside interference (VMware). What kind of development platform is all about? You think that everything will run for ten thousand? Yes, it will attract people, but terrible software discourage any self-respecting developer. In conclusion, I want to say that until recently did not believe that the Blackberry is on the way of Nokia, but unfortunately it is true.
Retired
tneil
Posts: 3,708
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Slow mouse in BB10 simulator on mac

Are you scaling the simulator window? This could be the cause of the slow down.

For example, if you shrink it down to 20% of the original then you still need to physically move the mouse across 1280 vertical pixels to traverse 256 pixels on the screen.  Since the OS is resizing the application window it has to ensure it sends coordinates for each of the 1280 pixels, which make it look like a slowdown. 

If this is the case, we'll take a look to see if there's anything we can do to adjust VMWare
Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter
New Contributor
itruf
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-04-2012
My Device: iPhone 4 ;(

Re: Slow mouse in BB10 simulator on mac

[ Edited ]

I'm using standard size, which was on the first launch.

Developer
ekke
Posts: 1,568
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Z10 (red Limited Edition), Q10, Z30
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: Slow mouse in BB10 simulator on mac

same for me:

 

using the BB10 Simulator on OSX 10.7 the mouse speed is too slow to really work with it.

 

I'm using the simulator unscaled on my 27" iMac Screen

 

normaly my mouse is set to fast speed on OSX

 

if using Parallels as VM all works well in my VMs to run W7 or Ubuntu on top of OSX.

if running VMWare's Fusion for PlayBook or AlphaDevice Simulator it's very very slow.

 

Please please use the mouse speed set by OSX.

 

Or: provide a VM for Parallels. I tried to import the PlayBook or AlphaDevicve Simulators into Parallels, but it didn't work.

 

for me the mouse speed is so slow, that I'm debugging on devices at the moment.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development Mobile Apps BlackBerry 10 Cascades
Cascades - Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/ekkescorner http://vimeo.com/ekkescorner/videos
bb10-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
Retired
tneil
Posts: 3,708
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Slow mouse in BB10 simulator on mac

Thanks for the system spec details ekke. We have the simulator team following this thread and trying to reproduce what you're seeing.

I've also passed on my observations to the team of your machine when you showed me the slow speed at the unconference at BB10 Jam.

I wanted to make sure they have the explaination of what slow looks like and what fast mouse users consider unusable. Many of us don't use fast mouse settings so having your full OS specs and mouse speed settings are helpful.
Tim Neil
Director, Application Platform & Tools Product Management
Follow me on Twitter
Developer
ekke
Posts: 1,568
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Z10 (red Limited Edition), Q10, Z30
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: Slow mouse in BB10 simulator on mac


tneil wrote:
Thanks for the system spec details ekke. We have the simulator team following this thread and trying to reproduce what you're seeing.

I've also passed on my observations to the team of your machine when you showed me the slow speed at the unconference at BB10 Jam.

aaah - now I know the face behind 'tnell' ;-)

that's why I like to go to conferences

 


tneil wrote:
I wanted to make sure they have the explaination of what slow looks like and what fast mouse users consider unusable. Many of us don't use fast mouse settings so having your full OS specs and mouse speed settings are helpful.
added 2 screenshots: my configuration of Apple MagicMouse .....
mouse-speed.png
...and trackpad:
trackpad-speed.png
Zeigerbewegung == Mouse Movement, langsam == slow, schnell == fast
Using Parallels as VM I only check the box "SmartMouse" and all works same way under Windows 7 oder Ubuntu then on my Mac
ekke



-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development Mobile Apps BlackBerry 10 Cascades
Cascades - Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/ekkescorner http://vimeo.com/ekkescorner/videos
bb10-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
Contributor
kozen
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-11-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9790

Re: Slow mouse in BB10 simulator on mac

Let me just also point out that I am on a MacBook Pro:

  • Processor 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
  • Memory 8 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
  • Graphics AMD Radeon HD 6750M 1024 MB
  • Software Mac OS X Lion 10.7.3

and having the mouse speed at the third fastest setting. 

 

I am using VMWare Fusion since it came out with different Windows VMs and I don't experience any mouse speed issue. Only the BB10 simulator has that. I am also running the VM in full resolution on my 27" monitor so scaling should not be an issue.

 

Thanks for your help in advance. 

Developer
ekke
Posts: 1,568
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Z10 (red Limited Edition), Q10, Z30
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: Slow mouse in BB10 simulator on mac

good to see that I'm not the only one ;-)

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development Mobile Apps BlackBerry 10 Cascades
Cascades - Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/ekkescorner http://vimeo.com/ekkescorner/videos
bb10-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
Contributor
dposluns
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎06-06-2012
My Device: Simulator

Re: Slow mouse in BB10 simulator on mac

I'm also experiencing this. It takes me about 4 passes with the mouse just to get from one edge of the simulator window to the other.

 

I'm running on an iMac with a 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 with 8 GB of RAM, so I sure hope my specs aren't the problem.

 

Dan.