Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Super Contributor
JeffLemon
Posts: 440
Registered: ‎01-13-2011
My Device: Playbook

Splashscreen not working

 

I've specified splashscreens via:

 

 <splashScreens> 
		<image>splashscreen_landscape.png</image>
		<image>splashscreen_portrait.png</image>
	</splashScreens>

 But I get the error:

 

Packaging failed:1

Error: Attribute image: file cannot be found in the list of packaged files: splashscreen_landscape.png 

 

I've put the files in the root of my app, is that the right place?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
BlackBerry Apps: Instruments | ARTPAD | Piano | Drums | Xylophone
Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 16,134
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport

Re: Splashscreen not working

try the assets folder
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Please use plain text.
Super Contributor
JeffLemon
Posts: 440
Registered: ‎01-13-2011
My Device: Playbook

Re: Splashscreen not working

I've just put them in the assets folder, still doesnt work.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
BlackBerry Apps: Instruments | ARTPAD | Piano | Drums | Xylophone
Please use plain text.
bbj
Contributor
bbj
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎02-22-2012
My Device: Developer

Re: Splashscreen not working

you almost certainly need to edit the bar file as well - its probably not actually putting the images into your simulator or device app installation folders.

 

You can use the Target File System Naviagtor in the QNX System Info perspective to see if the images have made it to your device/sim folders

 

PS
Sometimes bar file needs to be manually edited to remove old/redundant stuff - or add new stuff,

e.g. definately needs a manual edit if you dont call your icon 'icon.png'.

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Brennan12325
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎05-15-2012
My Device: None

Re: Splashscreen not working

I'm having issues with splashscreens as well. I had one working (768x1280), then I tried to change the image. Ever since changing the image any splashscreen I've tried has never loaded again.

 

My splashscreen is in fact on the device at /Sandboxes/myApp/app/public/native/splashscreen.png

 

Weird.

----------------------
Check out my app, Alien Flow for reddit

And of course, like my post if you found it helpful or informative!
Please use plain text.
Developer
Ebscer
Posts: 867
Registered: ‎08-31-2009
My Device: 9530, 9630, 9800, 8530, 9900, 9810, 9930, PlayBook, Dev Alpha

Re: Splashscreen not working

Make sure you are referencing the right file in your .xml file...


Read my thoughts on BlackBerry Development at news.ebscer.com
Please use plain text.
Developer
kylefowler
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎05-17-2009
My Device: 9900

Re: Splashscreen not working

also use the gui bar-descriptor to add the splash screen, dont just edit the source. Adding it there also adds it to the asset part of the bar-descriptor to get packaged with the app.
Like all of my posts
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Brennan12325
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎05-15-2012
My Device: None

Re: Splashscreen not working

Thanks for the tips, but unfortunately I'm next to positive it's an issue with the new emulator image. I've tried to change it with the GUI bar descriptor editor, directly in the source, verified the filename, verified the picture dimensions, verified the asset path as well as image path, verified the image is on the emulator filesystem, etc.

 

It's a pretty simple thing to verify, as it's an incredibly easy process to change the file, so that's unfortunate.

----------------------
Check out my app, Alien Flow for reddit

And of course, like my post if you found it helpful or informative!
Please use plain text.
Developer
BeroboInc
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎07-08-2011
My Device: Torch 9800, Bold 9700

Re: Splashscreen not working

Having the same issue. With older apps I had set a splash screen and app icon. In new apps neither changing the splash screen or app icon has any effect in the sim. Have no idea about a real device.

 

 

Berobo Inc.
Police Scanner Radio / Alarm Clock lets you listen to Police scanners in your area!
http://www.berobo.com
_________________________________________________
Please click the Like button to thank the user that has helped you and
please mark post as solved when you have found the solution to your problem.
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Brennan12325
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎05-15-2012
My Device: None

Re: Splashscreen not working

I find that it will eventually start to display your new splashscreen on the simulator. Honestly, when it starts working seems random to me. Sometimes changing the splahscreen will work right away, sometimes it won't etc. Uninstalling the app, checking the package created, the right splashscreen is always there, but not always displayed.

 

Very strange.

----------------------
Check out my app, Alien Flow for reddit

And of course, like my post if you found it helpful or informative!
Please use plain text.