Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
smiley
Posts: 1,449
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Fido
Accepted Solution

SystemCredentialsPrompt: how to change the username input to password?

I'm trying to use the SystemCredentialsPrompt as password and verify.

 

I can get the SystemUiInputField for username and when I try to change it with

 

            field->setInputMode(bb::system::smileyfrustrated:ystemUiInputMode::smileytongue:assword);

the field is doesn't change to password.

 

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 16,010
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: SystemCredentialsPrompt: how to change the username input to password?

Maybe its not possible. Build your own dialog :smileyhappy:
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Please use plain text.
Developer
ekke
Posts: 1,460
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Z10 (red Limited Edition), Q10, Z30
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: SystemCredentialsPrompt: how to change the username input to password?


simon_hain wrote:
Maybe its not possible. Build your own dialog :smileyhappy:

there are some other problems with SystemCredentialsPrompt

 

but you'r in luck: there's my blog and github repo HowTo create a custom credentials dialog:

blog: http://appbus.wordpress.com/2013/10/29/conference-app-secrets-2-custom-credentials-dialog/

also at BB dev blog: http://devblog.blackberry.com/2013/11/secrets-of-the-blackberry-jam-asia-conference-app-part-1-custo...

github: https://github.com/ekke/cascades_credentials_prompt

 

have fun

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
International Development Mobile Apps BlackBerry 10 Cascades
Cascades - Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

Open Source Enthusiast
blog: http://ekkes-corner.org videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/ekkescorner
bb10-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
Please use plain text.
Developer
pyth
Posts: 501
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
My Device: My Trusty Red Plane
My Carrier: Outer Space

Re: SystemCredentialsPrompt: how to change the username input to password?

didn't the other thread help you?

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Native-Development/Password-and-Confirm-Password-using-System...

 

otherwise I'd suggest 'normal' SystemCredentialsPrompt + onSubmit open a normal SystemPrompt, prompting the user to confirm their password

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm a bird from outer space. But I'm not flappy o.o
Please use plain text.
Developer
smiley
Posts: 1,449
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Fido

Re: SystemCredentialsPrompt: how to change the username input to password?


pyth wrote:

didn't the other thread help you?

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Native-Development/Password-and-Confirm-Password-using-System...

 

otherwise I'd suggest 'normal' SystemCredentialsPrompt + onSubmit open a normal SystemPrompt, prompting the user to confirm their password


Yes.  I'm using his example.  I just want to know if this was possible.  It could have saved me alot of work if I can just change the username field to password.

 

Before I have two dialogs prompts.  One for password and one for verify.  Which is annoying to prompt twice.  I Password and Verify system Dialog would be nice but for now I'm using the custom Dialog.

Please use plain text.