Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
New Contributor
darklin
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-01-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: TMobile

TabletOS simulator under linux.

Hi All.

I've encountered problems running simulator under linux.. various distribution of linux, with different kernels.

I have tried Ubuntu 10.04 LTS(kernel 2.9..), Linux Mint 11, Fedora 16(kernel 3.2). I used vmplayer 4 and vmplayer 3 to run this VM images.Even virtualbox but it does not work at all. The same situation is with simulator 2.0.

 

And the problem is that it hangs on the start up. Take a look on the screenshot..

Problem during startup

 

What I'm doing wrong? Could anyone help me deal with it?

I can change distro once again..I just want simulator works.

 

Thanks in advance.

Cheers!

Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,313
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: Bell

Re: TabletOS simulator under linux.

This is likely caused by using an unsupported 3D graphics card or not having the proper drivers installed.  Please refer to this post:  http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Native-SDK-for-BlackBerry-Tablet/problem-in-running-simulator...

 

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
darklin
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-01-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: TMobile

Re: TabletOS simulator under linux.

I really doubt it.
Simulator works on vmplayer on Windows Vista.
I've got intel x4500m video card which is fully supported by linux - 3d acceleration works fine.
Please use plain text.
Administrator
MSohm
Posts: 14,313
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: Bell

Re: TabletOS simulator under linux.

Have the latest drivers been installed?  Do you see any errors in the log?

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Developer
jheron
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎01-27-2012
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: ...

Re: TabletOS simulator under linux.

[quote]And the problem is that it hangs on the start up. Take a look on the screenshot..[/quote]

Ditto, same thing for me, stops at the same spot. I have tried everything I can think of with 0 success.

Vmplayer works fine for other OS's, just the RIM image thats the problem.

I am running fedora16 64bit: 3.2.2-1.fc16.x86_64. 

I do not see any issues from the video card drivers in the log file...

Here is a copy of the log if anyone is interested in helping:

oops, file it too large...

Here is a link to the log:  vmLog

 Cheers,

Jon

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
darklin
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-01-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: TMobile

Re: TabletOS simulator under linux.

I have no errors related to video card also.
I'm pretty sure that video driver is not the case here. Distros I've check have different kernel, therefore different driver versions.

@jheron, what video card do you have?

Today I've check simulator on Ubuntu 11.10 on different machine (a little bit newer model of Dell Latitude) and it does not work either.

Tommorrow I will try in a different way. I will use virtual disk from windows package.

I have installed Vista to use simulator ;-( It really hurts..
Please use plain text.
Developer
jheron
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎01-27-2012
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: ...

Re: TabletOS simulator under linux.

I have a Mobile Intel® GM45 Express Chipset .

There are only 2 drivers available for it and I have the latest driver installed.

Your installing windoze? Sorry about your luck! :smileywink:

What a poor choice to base the simulator on, mac users even have to pay for it ... Crazy...

Well hopfully they will release a patch a for it as I refuse to install windoze just to run a pb simulator!

Cheers,

Jon

 

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: TabletOS simulator under linux.

Hey Jon,

 

According to your log file the issue appears to be caused by this line:

GLManager: Required extension GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc is missing.

 

Could you try to enable the following setting and see if it helps to resolve the issue?

System -> Preferences -> 3D acceleration -> Image Quality -> Enable s3tc texturing

 

If not, please log a bug in the Issue Tracker (linked in my signature).

 

If anyone else experiences issues such as this then please post your VMWare log.

 

Cheers,

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Developer
jheron
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎01-27-2012
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: ...

Re: TabletOS simulator under linux.

Thank's Garett!!

It works like a charm now.

For others running Fedora, in order to enable the s3tc texturing, you may need to install DRICONF, get it from the package manager. Then set s3tc rendering checkbox as well as click the button next to it to yes. Then click the save and reload button.

After that and 5 minutes of booting the sim was up and running! :Clap: I ran it from the terminal~$ sudo vmplayer. I am not sure if its necessary to run from sudo but that's what I did and its finally working.

Cheers,

Jon

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
darklin
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-01-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: TMobile

Re: TabletOS simulator under linux.

Lol :smileyvery-happy:
I was so simple :smileytongue:
installation of the Vista was unnecessary :smileysad:
Anyway, thanks for help guys!
Please use plain text.