If you are using Internet Explorer, please remove blackberry.com from your compatibility view settings.

Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Contributor
mik4rim
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-07-2012
My Device: none
My Carrier: virgin

Re: TabletOS simulator under linux.

Sorry guys,

I'm a bit confused: what is the solution then?

 

I use ubuntu, should I:

a]

1- install vmware view open client (?)

2- install windows inside vmware

3- install Tablet simulator on it

 

or

b]

1- install wine

2- install Tablet simulator on wine (?)

 

or... something else?

Thanks

Please use plain text.
Contributor
mik4rim
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-07-2012
My Device: none
My Carrier: virgin

Re: TabletOS simulator under linux.

OH!

much easier actually:

just installed vmware player and opened the simulator image from it.

 

But I am usingubuntu 11.10, so there is no longer this path:

System -> Preferences -> 3D acceleration -> Image Quality -> Enable s3tc texturing

 

Does this log suggest anything?

/.vmware$ cat player.log
<Action><Time>1328825296</Time><Act>ViewMode</Act><ID>47 a5 32 25 bc dc 90 0d-0d c9 29 a3 57 0b d7 2b</ID><Detail>Console</Detail></Action>
<Action><Time>1328825296</Time><Act>PowerOnVM</Act><ID>47 a5 32 25 bc dc 90 0d-0d c9 29 a3 57 0b d7 2b</ID><Detail>other</Detail></Action>
<Action><Time>1328825296</Time><Act>HardwareVersion</Act><ID>47 a5 32 25 bc dc 90 0d-0d c9 29 a3 57 0b d7 2b</ID><Detail>7</Detail></Action>

 

 

@-laptop:~/.vmware$ cat playerUploadedData.log
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<VMwareUserExperienceProgram version="1.0">
  <HostUUID>52 ae a0 73 81 54 85 1e-a5 ce 16 b6 47 54 df b5</HostUUID>
  <VMwareProductName>VMware Player</VMwareProductName>
  <VMwareProductVersion>4.0.2 S</VMwareProductVersion>
  <VMwareProductBuild>591240</VMwareProductBuild>
  <HostOS>Linux</HostOS>
  <HostArch>i686</HostArch>
  <HostVersion>Linux 3.0.0-15-generic-pae Ubuntu 11.10</HostVersion>
  <HostLocale>en_GB.UTF-8</HostLocale>
  <OptionalData>
    <HostModel></HostModel>
    <HostCPUID>00000000:0000000D756E65476C65746E49656E69-00000001:0001067A010208000C08E3FDBFEBFBFF-0000000A:07280202000000000000000000000503-80000000:80000008000000000000000000000000-80000001:00000000000000000000000120100000-80000008:00003024000000000000000000000000</HostCPUID>
    <HostLogicalCores>2</HostLogicalCores>
    <HostRAMinMB>4000</HostRAMinMB>
    <HostDisplayList>
      <HostDisplay>
        <DisplayWidth>1440</DisplayWidth>
        <DisplayHeight>900</DisplayHeight>
      </HostDisplay>
      <HostDisplay>
        <DisplayWidth>1440</DisplayWidth>
        <DisplayHeight>900</DisplayHeight>
      </HostDisplay>
    </HostDisplayList>
    <ActionLog>
      <Action>
        <Time>1328825243</Time>
        <Act>ApplianceView</Act>
        <ID>6f 40 5b 42 66 40 56 26-41 0e 83 10 aa 0d 05 d0</ID>
        <Detail>N</Detail>
      </Action>
    </ActionLog>
  </OptionalData>
</VMwareUserExperienceProgram>

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
jheron
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎01-27-2012
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: ...

Re: TabletOS simulator under linux.

No need for windows. Just install the vmplayer for linux. http://downloads.vmware.com/d/

Then see if it will install and run, if not you may need to find a patch for your particular linux kernel, look around here: http://weltall.heliohost.org/wordpress/2012/01/26/vmware-workstation-8-0-2-player-4-0-2-fix-for-linu...

Then, if the sim freezes at [screen]  you may need to install "DRICONF" look for it in your software installer, apt get, google, etc...

That did the trick for me.

Good luck!

Jon

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
jheron
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎01-27-2012
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: ...

Re: TabletOS simulator under linux.

Oops, I missed your last post somehow.

Get the log from  vmplayer, its in the same folder as the sim image.

You could just try DRICONF too.

Cheers,

Jon

Please use plain text.
Contributor
mik4rim
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-07-2012
My Device: none
My Carrier: virgin

Re: TabletOS simulator under linux.

Thanks guys,

I installed driconf as well but still same result: it hangs at the same point :-(

 

Just one other thing:

I got the file BlackBerryPlaybookSimulator.vmx from the installer for Mac OS and then unpacked in a Mac...

Is that the way you did it?

Or did you extract the vmx file from the Windows .exe installer somehow?

 

Thanks!

Mik

Please use plain text.
Contributor
mik4rim
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-07-2012
My Device: none
My Carrier: virgin

Re: TabletOS simulator under linux.

I think I have some problem with tools:

- from the log -

Vix: [28101 guestCommands.c:2109]: Error VIX_E_TOOLS_NOT_RUNNING in VMAutomationTranslateGuestRpcError(): VMware Tools are not running in the guest

 

But f inside the VM I do:

File -> Preferences -> "Download all components now"

 

I get this:

VMware Tools for Linux:
Could not find component on update server. Contact VMware Support or your system administrator.

 

Does it mean I have network connection problems from VMware? I am using NAT...

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: TabletOS simulator under linux.

[ Edited ]

Here's the link to the PlayBook VM for Linux. It will help remove some variables rather than trying to get another version running under Linux:

https://bdsc.webapps.blackberry.com/native/beta/download/linux/

 

Regards,

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Contributor
mik4rim
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-07-2012
My Device: none
My Carrier: virgin

Re: TabletOS simulator under linux.

Garett,

 

thank you so much for the link: I was not aware that there was a VMWare image of the Playbook simulator for linux hosts!

Cool!

 

Unfortunately... it is still blocked where it was before and the log message reports:

[4387 guestCommands.c:2109]: Error VIX_E_TOOLS_NOT_RUNNING in VMAutomationTranslateGuestRpcError(): VMware Tools are not running in the guest

 

If I select the VirtualMachine menu the item "VMWare tools" is unavailable (it tells me "VMWare Tools Unavailable") and i didn't find an obvious way to install them.

On the VMWare website I understood that the Tools can be provided with the image of the guest OS....

 

Do you think ir is something that BlackBerry could consider to do?

I mean deliver a linux binary with the image of PlayBook simulator with VMWare Tools...

 

(I think I am a pain, I know :-)

 

thanks in any case,

I'll keep on digging..,

Mik

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: TabletOS simulator under linux.

Hey Mik,

 

Try posting your info over here:

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Native-SDK-for-BlackBerry-Tablet/Having-trouble-booting-the-s...

 

It's an official thread for these issues. The first posts lists a bunch of required information.

 

I'm not sure how the licensing would happen with VMWare for distribution, but it's an interesting idea!

 

Cheers,

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Contributor
jsprenger
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: verizon

Re: TabletOS simulator under linux.

I had this same problem with Linux Mint. (Dell e6500 Laptop).

 

It ws solved by Installing the NVidia proprietary drivers (from the Menu), and that fixed the problem for me, but now I suffer from trying to manage multiple monitors under the Nvidia drivers. NVidia settings only helps slightly here, but it is quite stupid about what to do when you detach monitors from your laptop/docking station.

 

Simulator now works, albeit quite slowly.

 

 

 

Please use plain text.