Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
AvisDx
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎12-02-2012
My Device: Z10 LE, PlayBook 32GB
My Carrier: Beeline
Accepted Solution

Troubles with porting to BB10 without a real device.

Hi.

 

I'm truying to port my games to BB10 platform. 

Games built with Qt. I have no dev alpha device, so I can test games only in simulator.

With not so much effort I can successfully run them in BB10 simulator. And there the games work perfectly.

But when I'm trying to upload those games to App world - I always get the "denied" reuslt - my games can't even start on a real device.

 

Maybe I forgot something? Here is what I do (I'm using QtCreator):

- set ABI to arm-linux-generic-elf-32bit

- replace default mkspecs with files from blackberry-armv7le-qcc

- set the same blackberry-armv7le-qcc specs in Kit properties

- build in QtCreator

- make BAR from comman-line

- sign with previuosly requested keys

- upload to App World

 

Or maybe there is a way to test app on a remote real device?

Thanx for any help or suggestion.



My BB10 apps: Photo Memo | TriQuick | SkidStone | MeeBirthdays
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post.
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
taylor-tomt
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎11-19-2010
My Device: Z10, Playbook

Re: Troubles with porting to BB10 without a real device.

See the testing forum.

 

There are test services out there.

 

Everyone developing for OS10 has the same issue unless they're lucky enough to have a DEV device.

 

You can also make a request here and usually someone with a DEV device will kindly offer to load and test your app for you.

Please use plain text.
Developer
BGmot
Posts: 1,068
Registered: ‎11-24-2011
My Device: PlayBook
My Carrier: x

Re: Troubles with porting to BB10 without a real device.

reagrding Qt apps... there is a "trick" when you export Release Build in NDK in dialog you should put "-platform blackberry". I don't know how QtCreator handles this.
I can test your app on real device if you wish.

Please use plain text.
Developer
AvisDx
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎12-02-2012
My Device: Z10 LE, PlayBook 32GB
My Carrier: Beeline

Re: Troubles with porting to BB10 without a real device.

 


taylor-tomt wrote:

You can also make a request here and usually someone with a DEV device will kindly offer to load and test your app for you.


Yes, I think I should find somebody with Dev Alpha device...



My BB10 apps: Photo Memo | TriQuick | SkidStone | MeeBirthdays
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post.
Please use plain text.
Developer
AvisDx
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎12-02-2012
My Device: Z10 LE, PlayBook 32GB
My Carrier: Beeline

Re: Troubles with porting to BB10 without a real device.

 



BGmot wrote:

reagrding Qt apps... there is a "trick" when you export Release Build in NDK in dialog you should put "-platform blackberry". I don't know how QtCreator handles this.
I can test your app on real device if you wish.


Thanks. I can find that this trick used for PlayBook, but nothing about Dev Alpha. Anyway, platform in Qt is defined is mkspecs, I suppose. So if I'm using right mkspecs - compiler should use the right platform...

By the way, do You have a Dev Alpha device (I'm not sure, that my programs will work on a PlayBooK)?



My BB10 apps: Photo Memo | TriQuick | SkidStone | MeeBirthdays
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post.
Please use plain text.
Developer
BGmot
Posts: 1,068
Registered: ‎11-24-2011
My Device: PlayBook
My Carrier: x

Re: Troubles with porting to BB10 without a real device.

>By the way, do You have a Dev Alpha device

yes I do.

Please use plain text.
Developer
AvisDx
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎12-02-2012
My Device: Z10 LE, PlayBook 32GB
My Carrier: Beeline

Re: Troubles with porting to BB10 without a real device.


BGmot wrote:

>By the way, do You have a Dev Alpha device

yes I do.


sent You a PM...



My BB10 apps: Photo Memo | TriQuick | SkidStone | MeeBirthdays
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post.
Please use plain text.
Developer
BGmot
Posts: 1,068
Registered: ‎11-24-2011
My Device: PlayBook
My Carrier: x

Re: Troubles with porting to BB10 without a real device.

Yes, it fails to even start. So I am not sure how I can help you troubleshoot this app. Are you writing logs to shared folders?

Please use plain text.
Developer
BGmot
Posts: 1,068
Registered: ‎11-24-2011
My Device: PlayBook
My Carrier: x

Re: Troubles with porting to BB10 without a real device.

Send me unsigned version so I'll be able to access log folder of your app. And by the way bar file does not have any assets except binary and one .png file, is that ok, shouldn't it have .wav's and .ogg's as well?

Please use plain text.
Developer
AvisDx
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎12-02-2012
My Device: Z10 LE, PlayBook 32GB
My Carrier: Beeline

Re: Troubles with porting to BB10 without a real device.

[ Edited ]

BGmot wrote:

Send me unsigned version so I'll be able to access log folder of your app. And by the way bar file does not have any assets except binary and one .png file, is that ok, shouldn't it have .wav's and .ogg's as well?


Thanx for trying.

Unsigned veriosn sent...

Yes, there are no assets inside - all images packaged with exe- file, and sounds disabled and removed, couse I can't get them working in simulator...

As for logs - I can see debug information in IDE, but not really sure if this info stored somewhere in app's folders...



My BB10 apps: Photo Memo | TriQuick | SkidStone | MeeBirthdays
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post.
Please use plain text.