Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
testinz
Posts: 173
Registered: ‎09-03-2012
My Device: Blackberry 10

Re: Unable to get headless apps working


Royster86 wrote:
Bryan, have you tried using just cascades and not cascades10? I do some DB stuff via and external library and it seems to work.

Your comment saved my day! I stuck with this issue for a while. Thanks!

Please use plain text.
New Developer
sammy0307
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-14-2014
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: Mobile Developer

Re: Unable to get headless apps working

Excuse me, i want to ask headless auto start after device reboot. I have tried in 2 conditions :

1. plug my device to laptop (compile software from momentics and do reboot) and after restart device, headless is running

2. i don't plug my device to laptop, and after restart, headless is NOT running

 

can you help me with this trouble?

Please use plain text.
Developer
Royster86
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎03-13-2012
My Device: 9360, P'9981, Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone, Virgin

Re: Unable to get headless apps working

Hi Sammy,

I'd be interested in finding out if anyone else has this issue.

I discovered the same thing. When connected and installed initially (via USB, or even app world) I can see that my app was invoked by system.STARTUP as you'd expect.

Then, if I reboot the device, the app does not get started. Not even main.cpp is entered according to my debug logs.

I'm pretty sure at one point this did work.

I'm running 10.2.1 on my device, and the app has been built with the 10.2 SDK.
Please use plain text.
New Developer
sammy0307
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-14-2014
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: Mobile Developer

Re: Unable to get headless apps working

Hi Mr Royster ...

 

Thank you for your response,, and now what i must do to solve this problem?

 

I just confused why if i used USB connect device to laptop even reboot, the headless can running and doesn't have a trouble. But if without USB connected the headless cannot running after reboot

Please use plain text.
Developer
Royster86
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎03-13-2012
My Device: 9360, P'9981, Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone, Virgin

Re: Unable to get headless apps working

Hi Sammy,

Unfortunately I haven't found the cause or fix for this problem yet...

I am also not able reproduce the issue you have with the app working as expected with the USB cable connected. Mine only autoruns after installation (from momentics or app world), not after system start up (with or without the USB cable connected).

The fact that it runs after install (without launching the GUI) must mean that startup invocation is working... however it is not on actual device startup.. I also have it output to a text file on the SD card how the app was invoked, so I can tell for sure that it is working, apart from when device reboots.

Sammy, do you have balance or Corp only mode enabled in your device? I used to have balance, but I removed it and am testing with personal side. Users of my app do have balance/corp enabled, and they have the same issue.
Please use plain text.
New Developer
sammy0307
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-14-2014
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: Mobile Developer

Re: Unable to get headless apps working

Hi Royster, 

 

 

I'm sorry ... what the meaning balance or Corp only mode enabled in my device ? actually i don't understand Sir ... :smileysad:

Please use plain text.
Developer
BBSJdev
Posts: 5,950
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: Orange

Re: Unable to get headless apps working

Rather than running two threads on the same subject, can you stop posting on this one and only reply in the other.

 

Thanks.


If you've been helped click on Like Button, if you've been saved buy the app. :smileyhappy:

Developer of stokLocker, Sympatico and Super Sentences.
Please use plain text.
Developer
BBSJdev
Posts: 5,950
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
My Device: Playbook, Z10 LE, Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: Orange

Re: Unable to get headless apps working

This is the link to the fresh thread for those that wish to participate on the strange behaviour of headless not working while connected to the development environment...

 

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Native-Development/Trouble-Headless-App-after-device-reboot/t...


If you've been helped click on Like Button, if you've been saved buy the app. :smileyhappy:

Developer of stokLocker, Sympatico and Super Sentences.
Please use plain text.
Developer
smiley
Posts: 1,418
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Fido

Re: Unable to get headless apps working

I think it is the way headless is implemented and has nothing to do with our apps.  When the device is restarted I do notice that my app is not restarted.  It doesn't matter how the app was installed eg: thur wifi, usb, sideload or BBWorld.

Please use plain text.
Developer
Royster86
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎03-13-2012
My Device: 9360, P'9981, Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone, Virgin

Re: Unable to get headless apps working

Thanks smiley, good to know I'm not the only one :smileyhappy:
Please use plain text.